Thomas J. Steele, S.J. Collection

Thomas J. Steele, S.J. Collection

Historical Note

   Father Thomas J. Steele was a respected member of the Regis University Faculty and curator of the Regis University Santos Collection. Thomas Joseph Steele as born in St. Louis, MO on November 6th, 1933. He joined the Society of Jesus in 1951 and was ordained in 1964. He completed a PhD in 1968 on James Fenimore Cooper at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque before coming to Regis College, where he taught English for over 30 years. He collected and curated a teaching collection of Santos, religious fold art of the Southwest. 

   In 1977 Fr. Steele retired as Professor Emeritus. He then moved to the Immaculate Conception Church in Albuquerque, NM and continued pastoral work, writing, and research. He returned to the Jesuit House on the Regis University campus in Denver, CO and died on October 25th, 2010. 

   A prolific writer, Fr. Steele published over 35 books and 77 articles on the arts, history, and religions of the American Southwest. There are over 30 unpublished manuscripts within the Thomas J. Steele, S.J. Papers in the Regis University Archives and Special Collections. 

Homily of Thomas J. Steele, S.J.

Regis University Archivist

Profile Photo
Archives & Special Collections
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. You can email us at library@regis.edu.
Contact:
Dayton Memorial Library
archives@regis.edu
 
Research Help Desk
303.458.4031
1.800.388.2366 x4031
library@regis.edu
Book a Librarian

Access and Location

The Regis University Archives and Special Collections are located in the Dayton Memorial Library in Suite 104. 

All archives and collections are non-circulating and are accessible by appointment only. 

Patrons that have not set an appointment are not guaranteed consultation with the archivist.

Before visiting please submit a research request via the research request form. Walk-in researchers are not guaranteed access to archival and collection materials. 

Please contact Archives and Special Collections at 303.458.4128 or email archives@regis.edu with any questions.