APA
This is the "Welcome" page of the "Accounting & Taxation Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Regis University Library Renewals My Account Insite WebAdvisor WorldClass Regis University home Image Map

Accounting & Taxation Research Guide  

Last Updated: Mar 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.regis.edu/accounting Print Guide Email Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Handouts & Guides

 

Ask Us!

Reference Desk

303-458-4031
1-800-388-2366 x4031
library@regis.edu

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Evaluating Internet Sources

Some things to consider:

- Who authored the piece?  Is there evidence of an advanced degree, an institutional affiliation, or a record of research?

- What is the source?  Does it come from a reputable agency, organization, or research institute?

- How current is it?  Does it have a date?  Is this a topic that changes quickly?

- Is the source well researched?  Does it cite other studies or authors?

- How objective is it?  Is this just an opinion piece or does it rely on documentable evidence? 

Getting Started

This guide suggests useful resources for Accounting and Taxation research from the Regis Library. Please Ask Us! for help selecting, connecting to, and using databases. Remote access to subscription resources requires a RegisNET account.

  • FASB Accounting Standards Codification
    The FASB code is the single source of authoritative nongovernmental U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (US GAAP). Two concurrent users are allowed. Contact the Reference Desk for a password at 303-458-4031.
  • Business Source Complete
    BSC contains articles from scholarly journals, trade journals, and news sources. It covers all areas of business and management. In addition there are company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry reports, market research reports, and country reports.
  • Books 24x7  
      
    Please log out when finished with this valuable collection of full-text electronic books. Thousands of current titles, especially in IT, business, nonprofit management and leadership are here. Search by keyword in title or even in full-text. Build your own list of favorites and bookmark.

Tutorials

Here are some useful tutorials for getting up to speed with Regis Library accounting resources:

  • Accounting Research
    This tutorial demonstrates how to access the Wiley GAAP guides in the LexisNexis Academic database, provides a summary of materials in the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) Accounting and Auditing Literature database, and illustrates how to find articles on the Web and in the library databases from the Journal of Accountancy.
  • Business Source Complete database tutorial
    A tutorial demonstrating how to find journal articles, industry profiles, company profiles, SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats) analyses, market research reports, and country reports in the Business Source Complete database. The tutorial begins with a basic introduction of the resource and is followed by a main menu that allows the user to specify their research interest.
  • Company and Industry information
    This tutorial shows how to find company profiles, financial data, and related industry information using the company Qwest as an example.
 

Regis Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Subject Guide

Profile Image
John Schmitt
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library 217
303-458-3597
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip