Guides: Pharmacy Research Guide: Adverse Drug Reactions

Adverse Drug Events

FDA Medlars Information

The following sites provide information from the Federal Drug Administration (FDA) Adverse Events Reporting System (AERS) database; some parts require a fee. These sites are intended for patient as well as health care professional use. Each site provides a link for patient’s to report ADRs.

FDA MedWatch
Your FDA gateway for clinically important safety information and reporting serious problems with human medical products.
FDAble
Provides adverse event data for drugs, devices, and vaccines. Default search is by drug name. Choose Advance Search option to search by adverse event. Adverse event must match to specific lexicon.
RxISK
Frequency and severity of ADR information displayed as a Wordle (and in tabular form). Provides patient narratives. Includes a link to the drug-drug interaction checker in Lexicomp; free registration is required.

Adverse Drug Reactions

Drugs & Lactation Database (LactMed)
Medicines and breast feeding compatibility, including drugs that may affect mothers or infants.
TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the National Library of Medicine.

Other ADRs web sites

CredibleMeds
Provides information on drugs and QT prolongation.
Sider2 Side Effect Resource
Developed for scientists. Available information includes side effect frequency, drug and side effect classifications as well as links to further information, for example drug–target relations. Provides readily available information on source of ADR, either clinical trial or post-marketing.

Non-US ADE Reporting sites

Canada Vigilance Adverse Reaction Online Database
Search ADE data reported to the Canadian Health Ministry.
Database of Adverse Event Notifications, Australian Government
Search ADE data reported to the Australian government. Also searches for adverse events associated with devices.
European Database of Suspected Adverse Drug Reactions, European Medicines Agency
Search for ADE data reported to the European Medicines Agency. Brose listing by brand name.
New Zealand, Suspected Medicine Adverse Reaction Search
Search for ADE data reported to the New Zealand Medicines and Medical Device Safety Authority