Guides: Pharmacy Research Guide: Article Databases

Literature

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 10 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. See PubMed User Guide for more information.

MESH Database
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed to make searching more focused and specific.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Considered the “gold standard” for evidence-based practice, Cochrane Library is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (“Reviews”), which has full-text evidence-based reviews of health care practices and treatments. Additional databases that are not full-text: abstracts of systematic reviews, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and citations to clinical trials.

EBSCOhost Medical Databases
Search Academic Search Premier, CINAHL & MEDLINE through EBSCOhost.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
The academic side of Google is here, retrieving articles, chapters, books, and reports from university presses and other sources. Books out of copyright are here in full text. From the Settings, select "Library Links" to add Regis and see “Full Text @ My Library” among your search results.
Sage Health Sciences This link opens in a new window
Access to 245+ journals, encompassing over 460,000 scholarly articles covering issues and topics in the health sciences. Full-text coverage for most journals in the package from 1999-present
Trip Database This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence, Trip also contains other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
This collection of 279 journals includes the full-text of articles. Coverage includes titles in business, finance & management; chemistry; computer science; earth science; education; engineering; law; life and medical sciences; mathematics & statistics; physics; and psychology.

Other Useful Databases

Annual Review of ... This link opens in a new window
Full-text annual reviews from the areas of biochemistry; biophysics; ecology, evolution and systematics; genomics and human genetics; medicine; microbiology; neuroscience; physiology; psychology; physical chemistry; anthropology; and sociology.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
This source provides indexing and abstracts for 6,000 sources in biomedicine, biotechnology, toxicology, zoology, ecology and agriculture. Companion indexes include Biology Digest, Medline 1999-present and Toxline in a rolling 5-year index.
Additional search help is available at: http://proquest.libguides.com/databaseguides

CHEMBL
Open-access database from the European Bioinformatics Institute, an Outstation of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory. Description from homepage: ChEMBL is a database of ca. 500,000 bioactive compounds, their quantitative properties and bioactivities (binding constants, pharmacology and ADMET, etc). The data is abstracted and curated from the primary scientific literature and the data made available due to funding by the Wellcome Trust.

Chemical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Chemical Abstracts is now available via SciFinder Scholar. This database covers a variety of scientific disciplines, including Agriculture Science, Biology and Life Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Food Sciences, General Chemistry, Geological Sciences, Material Sciences, Medical Sciences, Physics, and Polymer Science. Remote access is not available at this time.
HaPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Provides information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are also included.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Designed for nurses, health professionals, students, and consumers, this source covers more than 2,000 periodicals and has full text articles from more than 1,300. Many multimedia files enhance the content.
Journals@OVID This link opens in a new window
This is a browse-able collection of 367 e-journals in clinical medicine, nursing, and the health professions. Most people will choose to search in sources like CINAHL or MEDLINE (PubMed). Their list of results will link to articles found here.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
Provides graded and reliable evidence-based information on alternative and complementary treatments including herbal remedies, dietary supplements, natural products and integrative therapies.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 49 psychology journals, including 40 from the American Psychological Association and 9 from allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present and includes over 25,000 articles, letters to the editor, and errata.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Article citations and detailed abstracts of articles from over 2,000 journals published internationally in all areas of psychology from 1872 to the present. Links to full-text articles from PsycARTICLES and Academic Search Premier.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the full-text for over 1,600 Elsevier journals in the areas of science, technology and medicine. Over 6.5 million articles are available from all fields of science. Full-text is available from 1995 for most journals, however, a full-text for a sub-set of the titles begins in 1993.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Chemical Abstracts is now available via SciFinder Scholar. This database covers a variety of scientific disciplines, including Agriculture Science, Biology and Life Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Food Sciences, General Chemistry, Geological Sciences, Material Sciences, Medical Sciences, Physics, and Polymer Science. Access now includes the substructure module.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This full-text database has all feature articles and business notices from 1984 to the present. It is updated at the end of each business day. Stock and bond tables are not included. Advanced Search allows you to look up industry codes, product names, and other fields. NOTE: If you have difficulty accessing WSJ through IE 10, please try accessing through another browser (Firefox, Chrome, or Safari).
Additional search help is available at: http://proquest.libguides.com/databaseguides

Search by Journal Name or ID

What is a DOI?
Example DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevD.15.2752

DSM 5

PsychiatryOnline.org

PsychiatryOnline includes access to the DSM V and a number of psychiatry textbooks. Access also includes the American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Academic Psychiatry (through 12/2013), Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, and Psychiatric News.

New EBSCO User Interface

The new EBSCO User Interface is now available! We are happy to provide you with new, intuitive ways to refine, navigate, and share search results, as well as significant ADA improvements, new concept maps for a visual representation, and new language translation capabilities, so you can use the interface and access online full text in your preferred language!

Start exploring today:

https://research.ebsco.com/c/dtcvxl?acr_values=guest

Need help? Check out the links below for short video tutorials:

https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Introduction-to-the-New-EBSCO-Discovery-Service-Tutorial?language=en_US