Pharmacy Research Guide

Contains practice guidelines for common pediatric aliments (http://aappolicy.aappublications.org/).

Available in English and Spanish and provides information regarding types of cancer, prevention, detection, specific symptoms, treatment options, chemotherapy, drugs, and radiation. This site is meant more for the general public and provides useful information for oncology patients and their families. If your patient population includes oncology patients, it is a worthwhile site for you to be familiar with since your patients may be quoting it and asking about information provided there.

Diabetes Care Journal, Practice Recommendations, Links to Related Sites, Recipes

Frequently asked questions, treatment guidelines, AHA journals, Pharmaceutical Roundtable

This is the American Lung Association site. It is geared toward consumers. However, a health professional could choose a lung disease and print out a fact sheet about the disease for the patient. Fact sheets for smoking cessation are also available. There is also information about asthma, including a section on asthma drugs.

Contains practice guidelines relating to psychiatric illnesses

This site is sponsored by the American Society of Hematology. This site has hematology teaching cases. Also available are guidelines for CML and ITP diagnosis and management.

Maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) (a division of the National Institutes of Health); targets “anyone with questions on cancer” and is useful for both consumers and healthcare specialists. Information includes treatment, risk, genetics and coping; available in both English and Spanish. A section called PDQ is the NCI’s cancer database of peer reviewed information.

Health information for travelers; iIncludes a database to search health information by disease, destination, travel conditions (altitude, rural, urban, etc.) and personal travel clinic where you can request personalized information.