Regis University Archives and Special Collections

The Archives and Special Collections are open to all researchers and the Regis community.

COVID RESPONSE

Taking into consideration the public health recommendations for social distancing and reduced staff capacity in the short-term Archives and Special Collections will not be providing in-person research services. However, we are available to schedule a zoom research call. Please email archives@regis.edu to schedule an appointment or for a research request. 


 

Archives will acknowledge your request within 3 business days, but the average time to fulfill a research request is 2-3 weeks depending on the nature of the request.

Research Requests

Regis University Archives and Special Collections invites patrons to initiate their requests through the Research Request Form below. Please include the following information: your name, e-mail address, and telephone number, as well as the subject, location, and time period of the topic. Please note: All fields marked with * are required fields.

Regis University Archives and Special Collections will respond to reference requests in the order that we receive them, with researchers being consulted about their research topic within three weeks of placing their request.

Policy
It is the responsibility of the researcher to examine the unrestricted materials in the collections. We are sensitive, however, to the challenges of travel involved in historical research. We will provide up to one and a half hours of research on behalf of a researcher. This hour includes spent scanning to provide the researcher with digital copies of materials in the archives. Digital copies of archival materials will be provided at the discretion of the staff, depending on the amount and condition of the materials.

Beyond this one and a half hour, the researcher may examine the materials during a visit to the archives or may arrange for contract work with a professional assistant. Please contact us by email or phone for additional questions regarding this policy.

To further assist you please refer to our collections here and if possible indicate boxes, files folders and items of interest.
https://libguides.regis.edu/c.php?g=53784&p=346620

Archives and Special Collections

The Archives contain the historical, institutional records of Regis University and Loretto Heights College. In addition, the Archives hold historical records of the Catholic presence in the American Southwest, especially the Jesuit beginnings in Colorado and New Mexico.

Special Collections contain the papers of individuals, organizational records, and object collections that support the culture and curriculum of Regis University.

Recorder Music Center Archival Collections contain the papers of individuals as well as institutional records of significant contributors to the recorder music movement.

Educational Presentations of Archived materials may be scheduled.

Materials from the Archives and Special Collections do not circulate.

Archives and Special Collections Gift Aquisition Policy

1.   Gifts to the Regis University Archives and Special Collections shall be accepted if they provide material that documents the institutional history, life, and culture of the university, its predeccessor institutions, and Loretto Heights College, and/or augment the educational resources petinent to the academic programs of the university.

2.   Acceptance of gifts housed in the Regis University Archives and Special Collections will be determined by the Dean of the Library and/or the Archivist.

3.   Substantial major gifts to Regis University Archives and Special Collections [gifts over $5,000.000] will be handled by the Dean of the Library and the Archivist in concert with University Relations.

4.   Gifts accepted by the Dean of the Library and/or the Archivist will be acknowledged by a Gift Receipt.

5.   The Archives and Special Collections will provide a secure and stable enviromnent for the materials and will house, organize, describe, and maintain them in accordance with accepted archival principles and procedures to ensure both preservation and accessibility to researchers, faculty, students, and alumni.  All archival materials and collections are preserved in a climate-conrolled environment.

6.   All archival collections will be available to all qualified researchers on equal terms of access.  Any restrictions of access requested by the donor for reasons of confidentiality must be noted on the Gift Receipt and agreed to by the Dean of the Library and/or the Archivist.

7.   Materials which are determined to have no permanent value, historical interest, or are surplus to the needs of Regis University or Loretto Heights College will be discarded, or, returned to the donor, if indicated on the Gift Receipt.

Regis University Archivist

Archives & Special Collections's picture
Archives & Special Collections
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. You can email us at library@regis.edu.
Contact:
Dayton Memorial Library
archives@regis.edu
 
Research Help Desk
303.458.4031
1.800.388.2366 x4031
library@regis.edu
Book a Librarian

Location

Regis University Archives and Special Collections is located on the fourth floor of Regis University Library. The collections do not circulate and may be accessed only in the Reading Room. Please contact Archives and Special Collections at 303.964.3612 or email archives@regis.edu with any questions.