Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RC220b - World Religious Traditions II: Home

ALERTS

Service Alert: Prospector requests will be unavailable Wednesday, February 16th 9pm - Thursday, February 17th 12noon.
LumenClassic will be unavailable from Thursday, February 17th 3:30am - 8:30am.

Christianity, Judaism, and Islam resources

Middle Eastern Religion

“Religion: Middle East” from New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

Ancient Sumer

"Sumer" from Britannica Concise

Alternatives:

“Sumer” from The Columbia Encyclopedia

“Sumer, Sumerians” from Encyclopedia Judaica

“Sumer and the Sumerians” from The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students

History of Mesopotamia

Mesopotamia from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Mesopotamia” from the Columbia Encyclopedia

“Mesopotamia” from Encyclopaedia Judaica

“Mesopotamia, Ancient” from New Catholic Encyclopedia

“Mesopotamia” from The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students

Canaan

"Canaan" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Canaan, Land of” from the New Encyclopedia of Judaism

“Canaan, Land of" from Encyclopedia Judaica

“Canaan” from The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students

Judaism

"Judaism"from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Judaism” from The Columbia Encyclopedia

“Judaism”from the Encylopaedia Judaica

“Judaism: An Overview” from Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd edition)

“Judaism” from Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religions (2nd edition)

Zoroastrianism

Zoroastrianism from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Zoroastrianism” from The Columbia Encyclopedia

“Zoroastrianism” from the Encyclopedia of Religion

“Zoroastrianism” from Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religions (2nd edition)

Byzantine Empire

"Byzantine Empire" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Byzantine Empire”from The Columbia Encyclopedia

“Byzantine Empire” from The Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students

“Byzantine Empire” from the New Catholic Encyclopedia

Eastern Orthodoxy

"Eastern Orthodoxy" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Eastern Orthodox Church” from Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa

Charlemagne

"Charlemagne" Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Charlemagne” from the Britannica Guide to the World’s Most Influential People

“Charlemagne” from the Columbia Encyclopedia

“Charlemagne” from the New Catholic Encyclopedia

“Charlemagne” from Encyclopedia of Catholicism

Viking People

"Viking or Norseman" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Vikings” from the Columbia Encyclopedia

“Vikings” from the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students

“Vikings” from Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

Frankish Ascendancy

"Frank" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Franks” from The Columbia Encyclopedia

“Franks” from the New Catholic Encyclopedia

“Merovingian Franks” from Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000 Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

“Franks” from The Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students

Celtic Religion: Beliefs, Practices, and Institutions

"Celtic Religion" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Celtic Religions” from the Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd Edition)

“Celtic Religion” from the New Catholic Encyclopedia

Islam

Select paragraphs from “Islam” from the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

Select paragraphs from “Islam” from World Religions Reference Library

Select paragraphs from ”Islam: An Overview” from the Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd Edition)

Medieval European Judaism

“Judaism: An Overview” from the Encyclopedia of Religion; contains a section on Medieval Judaism

“Judaism” from the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students

“Jews, European” from Cassell’s Peoples, Nations, and Cultures

East-West Schism

Schism of 1054 from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“East-West Schism”from The MacMillan Encyclopedia

“The East-West Schism” from World Eras (Vol. 4: Medieval Europe, 814-1350)

“The Great Schism: 1054” from Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History (Vol. 4: Europe. )

From Schism to the Reformation

Select paragraphs from Fastiggi, R. “Church, History of: II. Medieval” from New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2010

Select paragraphs from Knowles, M.D. “Church, History of: II. Medieval” from the New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd Ed.)

Select paragraphs from “Christianity” from the Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices

Islam

Select paragraphs from “Islam” in the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

Select paragraphs from “Islam” in World Religions Reference Library

Select paragraphs from ”Islam: An Overview” from the Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd Edition)

Religious Architecture

“Architecture” from the Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd Ed.)

“The Communicative Agency of Religious Architecture” in Religion: Material Religion

Christian Architecture

Articles/Chapters

Wall, D. R., et al. " Church Architecture, History of. " New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., vol. 3, Gale, 2003, pp. 669-718.

" Early Christian and Byzantine Architecture. " Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 2: Ancient Greece and Rome 1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E. Gale, 2005, pp. 39-40.

Stegers, R. (2008). Church architecture . In J. Benyamin (Ed.) Sacred Buildings: A design manual (pp. 10-37). Birkhauser.

" Cathedrals and Churches. " The Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students, edited by William Chester Jordan, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 1996, pp. 161-163.

Streaming Media

The Cathedral Series (the Great Courses) – 24 episode series covering Christian church architecture

The World’s Greatest Churches (the Great Courses) – 24 episode series

Jewish Architecture

Articles/Chapters

Hollenstein, R. (2008). Synagogue architecture . In J. Benyamin (Ed.) Sacred Buildings: A design manual (pp.38-45). Birkhauser.

Gutmann, Joseph, and Steven Fine. " Synagogue. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 13, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 8920-8926.

Gibson, Shimon. " Architecture and Architects. " Encyclopaedia Judaica, edited by Michael Berenbaum and Fred Skolnik, 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2007, pp. 399-402.

Yadin, Yigael, et al. " Temple. " Encyclopaedia Judaica, edited by Michael Berenbaum and Fred Skolnik, 2nd ed., vol. 19, Macmillan Reference USA, 2007, pp. 601-627.

Islamic Architecture

“Moorish art and architecture” from the Columbia Encyclopedia

"Architecture" from Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (Vol. 1. )

“Islamic Art and Architecture” from The Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students.

“Islamic art and architecture in the golden age” from the Encyclopedia of the Medieval World

“Islamic Art & Architecture” from the Columbia Encyclopedia

“The Dome of the rock” from the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

“Taj Mahal” from the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

“Alhambra” from The Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students

“Mosque Cathedral of Córdoba” from Key Building from Prehistory to the Present

Reformation

"Reformation" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives

“Reformation” from Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology

"Reformation" from Global Dictionary of Theology

Council of Trent

"Trent, Council of" from Britannica Concise:

“Trent, Council of” from New Catholic Encyclopedia

“Trent, Council of” from The Columbia Encyclopedia

Holocaust World War II And The Holocaust from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Second Vatican Council

Evangelicalism

Sufism Islamic Mysticism: An Introduction to Sufi Islam

LumenPlus - Search for articles, books, media, and more...

More...

View the full version of the Regis Library's Religious Studies research guide for a complete list of resources and services.

Research Help

chat loading...

Research Help hours

 Email  Book a Librarian
 303.458.4031  800.388.2366 x4031

Library Services & Resources