LumenPlus: Search for articles, books, media, and more...
- What is LumenPlus? A user guide for LumenPlus, the Regis Lbrary's instance of the EBSCO Discovery Service.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA favorite for the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, medicine, and education, ASP indexes 8,200 periodicals. Full-text articles from 3,750 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals are found here, plus a number of popular sources.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocial Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences, covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations from over 1,700 journals in sociology, with additional abstracts from books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Coverage is from 1963 to the present.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowSearch Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and select ebooks on ProQuest.
- ERICA public database from the U.S. Department of Education, indexes a wide range of academic journals in education and related fields, including counseling and psychology. Many articles link to full-text.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources.
Additional Databases
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowFind overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThis indexes 12,500 periodicals in the Social Sciences, Humanities, Arts, Physical Sciences, Medicine and Education, with 5,400 titles in full-text. The sources are a mix of academic, professional, and popular periodicals and newspapers.
- Annual Review of ... This link opens in a new windowFull-text annual reviews from the areas of biochemistry; biophysics; ecology, evolution and systematics; genomics and human genetics; medicine; microbiology; neuroscience; physiology; psychology; physical chemistry; anthropology; and sociology.
- Historical Statistics of the U.S. This link opens in a new windowA source for the statistics of American history, Historical Stats arranges the data by population; work and welfare; economic structure and performance; economic sectors; and government and international relations.
- ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowSearch Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and select ebooks on ProQuest.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes the full-text for over 1,600 Elsevier journals in the areas of science, technology and medicine. Over 6.5 million articles are available from all fields of science. Full-text is available from 1995 for most journals, however, a full-text for a sub-set of the titles begins in 1993.
Google Scholar
Tell Google you're affiliated with Regis and you'll be linked to resources in our library.
- Click on Settings.
- Type "Regis University" in the 'Library Links' section and select "Regis University - Full Text @ My Library."
- Click Save.
Search Strategy Worksheet
Use this worksheet for database searching help and to keep a record of your searching history.
Full Text Finder
If the full text of an article isn't available from the database you're searching, click on the Full Text Finder link that appears below the citation or abstract to see if it is available elsewhere. A new tab or window will open when you click the Full Text Finder link, and all linked options for accessing the full-text document will be listed. Links on this page are formatted to prompt the Regis login for subscription access. Options may include:
Check for full text at the publisher's site: this link will direct the user to the publisher's Web site while passing through our institutional subscription.- Find this article in full text from EBSCOhost SmartLinks+: this link will connect the user to the resource in our library system that provides full-text.
- Find this article in full text from [database name]: this link will connect the user to a specific database in our system that provides access to the full-text document.
- Request this item through interlibrary loan: if no other options are presented, the user can request a digital copy of the article using the interlibrary loan system.
What is a scholarly article?
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (NCSU Libraries)
Click on the highlighted areas for clues to identify scholarly articles.
Article Quick Links
- Locate a JournalUse this to see if the library owns a specific journal, what years are available, and where it's available.
- Request an Article (Interlibrary Loan)For articles not owned by our library, use interlibrary loan to request a copy.