Open Internet Collections
-
LLILAS Benson Digital CollectionsDigital collections through UT Austin's Benson Collection and in partnership with the Teresa Lozano Long Institute for Latin American Studies (LLILAS),this collection contains a wealth of original manuscripts, photographs and various media related to Mexico, Central and South America, and the Caribbean and Latina/Latino presence in the United States. Use the tabs on the left to navigate through their extensive collections.
-
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de CervantesThe Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes is a large-scale digital library project, hosted and maintained by the University of Alicante in Alicante, Spain. It comprises the largest open-access repository of digitized Spanish-language historical texts and literature from the Ibero-American world. When officially launched in 1999 the BVMC was the first digital archive of Spanish-language texts on the internet, initially reproducing some 2,000 individual works by 400 of the most significant authors in Spanish and Latin American literary history.
-
Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio BibliográficoThe Virtual Library of Bibliographic Heritage (BVPB), managed by the General Subdirectorate for Library Coordination under the umbrella of the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport, is a digital library offering the public access to a valuable and growing collection of digitised facsimiles of manuscripts, printed books, historical photographs, cartographic material, musical scores, and other material that is housed in memory institutions (archives, libraries and museums) and forms part of Spain’s bibliographic heritage. Collections of interest comprise the exhibition on the War of Independence in 1808 as well as the Colección Hispanoamérica. The map collection also includes several British printed early maps of the Caribbean, North and South America.
-
Digital Library of the CaribbeanThe Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) was established in 2004 with nine (9) founding partners, five from the Caribbean and four from the United States. Today, twenty years later, dLOC has grown to over ninety (90) Partners and over forty (40) Associate Partners, who are based in the Caribbean, Canada, Europe, and the United States.
Books and e-books
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture
The term Latin America refers to the Portuguese and Spanish-speaking states created in the early 1820s following the wars of independence, states that differed enormously in geographical and demographical scale, ethnic composition and economic resources, yet shared distinct historical and cultural traits. Specially-commissioned essays by leading experts explore the unity and diversity of the region's cultural expressions.
The Cambridge History of Latin America
Volume 1 in The Cambridge History of Latin America looks at the history of colonial Latin America. 11 volumes available.
The Caribbean Before Columbus
This book documents the diversity and complexity that existed in the Caribbean prior to the arrival of Europeans, and immediately thereafter. The diversity results from different origins, different histories, different contacts between the islands and the mainland, different environmental conditions, and shifting social alliances. Organized chronologically, from the arrival of the first humans-the paleo-Indians-in the sixth millennium BC to early contact with Europeans, The Caribbean before Columbus presents a new history of the region based on the latest archaeological evidence.
Caribbean Migrations
With mass migration changing the configuration of societies worldwide, we can look to the Caribbean to reflect on the long-standing, entangled relations between countries and areas as uneven in size and influence as the United States, Cuba, Hispaniola, Puerto Rico, and Jamaica. More so than other world regions, the Caribbean has been characterized as an always already colonial region. It has long been a key area for empires warring over influence spheres in the new world, and where migration waves from Africa, Europe, and Asia accompanied every political transformation over the last five centuries.
Migration, social identities and regionalism within the Caribbean community : voices of Caribbean people
This book offers theoretical and empirical analyses of intra-Caribbean migration, regionalism and the construction of identities from the perspective of CARICOM nationals. It offers explanations as to why current attempts to promote intra-regional people mobility in the Caribbean have been met with and mixture of excitement, skepticism, tension and anxiety by regional governments, businesses and organizations, and CARICOM nationals.
Caribbean Military Encounters
This book provides a much-needed study of the lived experience of militarization in the Caribbean from 1914 to the present. It offers an alternative to policy and security studies by drawing on the perspectives of literary and cultural studies, history, anthropology, ethnography, music, and visual art. Rather than opposing or defending militarization per se, this book focuses attention on how Caribbean people negotiate militarization in their everyday lives. The volume explores topics such as the US occupation of Haiti; British West Indians in World War I; the British naval invasion of Anguilla; military bases including Chaguaramas, Vieques and Guantánamo; the militarization of the police; sex work and the military; drug wars and surveillance; calypso commentaries; private security armies; and border patrol operations.
Colonizing Paradise
Explores how perceptions and depictions of the physical landscape both reflected and influenced the history of the British colonial Caribbean.
The Haitians : A Decolonial History
In this sweeping history, leading Haitian intellectual Jean Casimir argues that the story of Haiti should not begin with the usual image of Saint-Domingue as the richest colony of the eighteenth century. Rather, it begins with a reconstruction of how individuals from Africa, in the midst of the golden age of imperialism, created a sovereign society based on political imagination and a radical rejection of the colonial order, persisting even through the U.S. occupation in 1915.
Cuba and Puerto Rico
In this first systematic comparative study of Cuba and Puerto Rico from both a historical and contemporary perspective, contributors highlight the interconnectedness of the two archipelagos and encourage a more nuanced and multifaceted study of the relationships between the islands and their diasporas.
Library Databases
-
Sabin Americana, 1500 - 1926 This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s; based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis is an archived collection of 150 e-journals in language & literature, music, art & art history, religion, history, and Asian, Jewish, and African-American studies. The journals are a nearly complete run from vol. 1 up to 4 years prior to the current issue. The individual journals can also be located through Lumen.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA favorite for the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, medicine, and education, ASP indexes 8,200 periodicals. Full-text articles from 3,750 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals are found here, plus a number of popular sources.