Open Internet Collections
- Digital Encyclopedia of European HistoryA digital project from Sorbonne Université, a digital encyclopedia launched in 2012 as part of the Investments for the Future campaign. This collection has scientific articles written and reviewed by scholars, in open access and bilingual (French, English).
- Library of Congress European CollectionsThis provides access to collection overview descriptions for the European collections at the Library of Congress. The European countries covered include the Russian-speaking areas of Asia, but exclude Spain, Portugal, and the British Isles.
- Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de CervantesThe Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes is a large-scale digital library project, hosted and maintained by the University of Alicante in Alicante, Spain. It comprises the largest open-access repository of digitized Spanish-language historical texts and literature from the Ibero-American world. When officially launched in 1999 the BVMC was the first digital archive of Spanish-language texts on the internet, initially reproducing some 2,000 individual works by 400 of the most significant authors in Spanish and Latin American literary history.
- Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio BibliográficoThe Virtual Library of Bibliographic Heritage (BVPB), managed by the General Subdirectorate for Library Coordination under the umbrella of the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport, is a digital library offering the public access to a valuable and growing collection of digitised facsimiles of manuscripts, printed books, historical photographs, cartographic material, musical scores, and other material that is housed in memory institutions (archives, libraries and museums) and forms part of Spain’s bibliographic heritage. Collections of interest comprise the exhibition on the War of Independence in 1808 as well as the Colección Hispanoamérica. The map collection also includes several British printed early maps of the Caribbean, North and South America.
Books and e-books
Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.--A.D. 1000
Examines the diverse peoples of early European civilization through a series of 212 essays, presented in chronological order. Coverage includes prehistoric origins through the early Middle Ages (8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000). Includes maps, photos, and chronologies.
A History of Europe : From Pre-History to the 21st Century
A History of Europe is a masterful narrative, bringing together the continent's common threads of history from the end of the ice ages until the present day. Travel back in time to rise of the Roman Empire, the brutal Viking raids, the cultural explosion of the Renaissance period, all the way up to the dissolution of the Soviet Union and the rise of consumer culture in the 21st century.
Mapping Black Europe
Black communities have been making major contributions to Europe's social and cultural life and landscapes for centuries. However, their achievements largely remain unrecognized by the dominant societies, as their perspectives are excluded from traditional modes of marking public memory. For the first time in European history, leading Black scholars and activists examine this issue - with first-hand knowledge of the eight European capitals in which they live. Highlighting existing monuments, memorials, and urban markers they discuss collective narratives, outline community action, and introduce people and places relevant to Black European history, which continues to be obscured today.
History derailed : Central and Eastern Europe in the long nineteenth century
There is probably no greater authority on the modern history of central and eastern Europe than Ivan Berend, whose previous work, Decades of Crisis, was hailed by critics as "masterful" and "the broadest synthesis of the modern social, economic, and cultural history of the region that we possess." Now, having brought together and illuminated this region's storm-tossed history in the twentieth century, Berend turns his attention to the equally turbulent period that preceded it. The "long" nineteenth century, extending up to World War I, contained the seeds of developments and crises that continue to haunt the region today.
Ethnic Groups and Population Changes in Twentieth Century Eastern Europe: History, Data and Analysis
This unique reference traces the changing borders and ethnic balances that characterized the history of Eastern Europe during the twentieth century. After a preliminary overview, the book divides Eastern Europe into five regions, from the Baltic to the Balkans, and closely analyzes the ethnic structure of each region's constituent units over time.
A brief history of Great Britain
A Brief History of Great Britain, second edition provides a clear, lively, and comprehensive account of the history of Great Britain from ancient times to the present day.
Imperial history and the global politics of exclusion : Britain, 1880-1940
Examining the rise of the field of imperial history in Britain and wider webs of advocacy, this book demonstrates how intellectuals and politicians promoted settler colonialism, excluded the subject empire, and laid a precarious framework for decolonization.
The Princeton History of Modern Ireland
An accessible and innovative look at Irish history by some of today's most exciting historians of Ireland. This book brings together some of today's most exciting scholars of Irish history to chart the pivotal events in the history of modern Ireland while providing fresh perspectives on topics ranging from colonialism and nationalism to political violence, famine, emigration, and feminism.
A Modern Nordic Saga : Politics, Economy and Society
This book focuses on the Nordic countries through a European perspective and wishes to draw attention to their place in the new world order. The volume emphasizes the specificity of their cooperation within the region itself as well as within the European Union, and stresses the importance of the Nordic region as an area of possibilities and tangible chances resulting from the challenges of globalization.
Ancient Scandinavia
Scandinavia, a land mass comprising the modern countries of Denmark, Sweden, and Norway, was the last part of Europe to be inhabited by humans. Not until the end of the last Ice Age when the melting of huge ice sheets left behind a fresh, barren land surface, about 13,000 BC, did the first humans arrive and settle in the region. The archaeological record of these prehistoric cultures, much of it remarkably preserved in Scandinavia's bogs, lakes, and fjords, has given us a detailed portrait of the evolution of human society at the edge of the inhabitable world.
Rethinking Democratisation in Spain, Greece and Portugal
This edited collection explores the ways in which the 2008/2009 social and economic crisis in Southern Europe affected the interpretation of the transitional past in Spain, Greece and Portugal. Discussing topics such as public memory, Europeanism and uses of the past by grassroots movements, the volume showcases how the crisis challenged consolidated perceptions of the transitions as 'success stories. It revisits the dominant historical narratives around Southern European transitions to democracy more than forty years since the demise of authoritarian regimes, bringing together contributors from history, cultural studies, political science and sociology.
The western Mediterranean and the world : 400 CE to the present
From the Straits of Gibraltar to Sicily, the European northern Mediterranean nations to the shores of North Africa, the western Mediterranean is a unique cultural and sociopolitical entity which has had a singular role in shaping today's global society. The Western Mediterranean and the World is the fascinating story of the rise of that peculiar world and of its evolution from the end of the Western Roman Empire to the present.
Library Databases
- European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930 This link opens in a new windowThis collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border.
- European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies to League of Nations Mandates in Africa 1910-1929 This link opens in a new windowGerman colonial aspirations in Africa ended with the end of the First World War. British and French Army forces seized German colonies in Africa and British naval forces occupied the German port facilities. The Treaty of Versailles legitimized and officially mandated the former German colonies to British and French colonial authorities. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities.
- European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939 This link opens in a new windowItalian colonial aspirations and policies mimicked those of other European countries during the modern period. Italian colonial policy during the period 1930-1939 was shaped more by Fascism. Fascist tenets related to governance and social policy was used in the administration and treatment of the African population in Libya, Eritrea, Somalia, and Italian East Africa. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities.
- European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929 This link opens in a new windowThis collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and the industrialization and economic exploitation of Portugal’s African colonies.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. The database contains more than 32,000 entries. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750."
- Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, The Stormont Administration 1921-1972 Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowThe papers contained in Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 are a complete digital facsimile of the Cabinet Conclusion files of the Northern Ireland Government, filed as CAB/4 at the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI). These CAB/4 files contain a full record of every debate and transaction for the entire duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland. Separate files exist for each Cabinet Meeting and include minutes and memoranda. The discussions and decisions reflect the wide range of problems and activities involved in making the new administration work.
- Patriotes aux Armes! (Patriots to Arms!): The Underground Resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy, 1939-1945 This link opens in a new windowThis collection consists of newspapers and periodicals; broadsides; leaflets; and books and pamphlets and other documents produced by or relating to the underground resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy.
- Witchcraft in Europe and America This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 263,207 documents from Cornell University, the University of Pennsylvania, and others.