Books and e-books
A History of Modern South Asia by Call Number: DS340 .T35 2016ISBN: 9780300196948Publication Date: 2016-01-12Noted historian Ian Talbot has written a new history of modern South Asia that considers the Indian Subcontinent in regional rather than in solely national terms. A leading expert on the Partition of 1947, Talbot focuses here on the combined history of India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh since 1757 and specifically on the impact of external influences on the local peoples and cultures.
Central Asia by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780822946786Publication Date: 2022-05-31Central Asia is a diverse and complex region of the world often characterized in the West as being difficult to access.Central Asia: Contexts for Understanding offers the most comprehensive introduction to the region available. Combining thematic chapters with case studies, readers will learn to appreciate the interconnected aspects of life in Central Asia.
Ancient West Asian Civilization by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9789811005541Publication Date: 2016-08-02This book explores aspects of the ancient civilization in West Asia, which has had a great impact on modern human society--agriculture, metallurgy, cities, writing, regional states, and monotheism, all of which appeared first in West Asia during the tenth to first millennia BC.
A Concise History of Japan by Call Number: DS835 .W333 2015ISBN: 9780521178723Publication Date: 2015-02-26To this day, Japan's modern ascendancy challenges many assumptions about world history, particularly theories regarding the rise of the west and why the modern world looks the way it does. In this engaging new history, Brett L. Walker tackles key themes regarding Japan's relationships with its minorities, state and economic development, and the uses of science and medicine.
The Two Koreas and Their Global Engagements by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9783030907600Publication Date: 2022-02-23This book departs from existing studies by focusing on the impact of international influences on the society, culture, and language of both North and South Korea.
China: a History by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781419721212Publication Date: 2019-01-15Discover the history of one of the world's most influential civilizations. Based on the Cyrus Tang Hall of China exhibit at The Field Museum, China: A History traces the 7,000-year story of this diverse land. Full-color maps, photos, and illustrations of the people, landscape, artifacts, and rare objects bring the history of this nation to life!
A brief history of Afghanistan by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781787852655Publication Date: 2019A Brief History of Afghanistan, Second Edition offers a clear, concise account of this country's historical and cultural heritage, from 3000 BCE to the present. This insightful book explores the culture and politics of the Pashtun tribes whose homeland extends across much of Afghanistan and northern Pakistan, as well as the Taliban insurgency and the relationship between local leaders and the central government in Kabul.
Russia in World History by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780199947898Publication Date: 2015-06-01Over the course of twelve centuries, Russia's peoples overcame the constant challenges posed by geography, climate, availability of natural resources, and devastating foreign invasions to become the world's second largest land empire and the largest in modern history.
A History of Saudi Arabia by Call Number: DS224.52 .A43 2010ISBN: 9780521761284Publication Date: 2010-04-01This updated edition analyses the challenges, both internal and external, facing Saudi Arabia in the twenty-first century. Two new chapters discuss the political, economic and social developments in the aftermath of 9/11, painting a vivid picture of a country shocked by terrorism and condemned by the international community.
Vietnam over the Long Twentieth Century by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9789819736102Publication Date: 2024-07-23This open access book provides fascinating insights into the incredible changes that Vietnam underwent in the long twentieth century as it transformed from an early modern kingdom to a European colony, to a divided land with opposing ideologies, and to a unified country in a globalized world.
Library Databases
- 19th Century English Language Journals of the Far East This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides researchers with six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape.
- Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 9,674 documents from the U.S. National Archives.
- Intelligence Reports from the NSC's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975 This link opens in a new windowPrimarily Department of State cables and CIA intelligence information cables concerning South and North Vietnam. Topics include the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, South Vietnam’s political climate, opposition groups, religious sects, ethnic groups, labor unions, corruption, press censorship, the North Vietnam’s military and economy, peace negotiations, and events in Cambodia and Laos.
- Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 114,304 documents from the U.S. National Archives.
- Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941 This link opens in a new windowThis collection reproduces the six principal MID files relating exclusively to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics). Also includes documents created by other U.S. Government agencies and foreign governments from the records of the Military Intelligence Division.
- Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 19,137 images from the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library.