Guides: Stories from Wartime Research Guide: Articles

Core Articles Options for History

Start with these resources for focused research in history.

Research Collections

These topical collections include a mix of articles, overviews, primary sources, and other resources to aid your research.

Historical Statistics of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
A source for the statistics of American history, Historical Stats arranges the data by population; work and welfare; economic structure and performance; economic sectors; and government and international relations.

More Article Options for History

These general interest article resources, along with options from related fields, provide additional choices for article searching.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A favorite for the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, medicine, and education, ASP indexes 8,200 periodicals. Full-text articles from 3,750 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals are found here, plus a number of popular sources.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This indexes 12,500 periodicals in the Social Sciences, Humanities, Arts, Physical Sciences, Medicine and Education, with 5,400 titles in full-text. The sources are a mix of academic, professional, and popular periodicals and newspapers.
Additional search help is available at: https://solutions.cengage.com/gale-training/materials/tip-sheets/
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Cross-search content from select Gale products, including the Regis Library's subscription access to Gale's OneFile periodicals databases covering multiple subject areas, In-Context article databases, and eBooks hosted on the Gale platform.
Default is set to search all general research databases from Gale. Use the Product Categories tree menu on the advanced search page to select individual databases of interest (e.g. Gale OneFile: LegalTrac or Gale OneFile:Computer)
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Article citations and detailed abstracts of articles from over 2,000 journals published internationally in all areas of psychology from 1872 to the present. Links to full-text articles from PsycARTICLES and Academic Search Premier.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
The largest index of medical literature, MEDLINE has citations and abstracts from more than 5,400 journals worldwide. The citations link to full-text in our other databases, where available. The MeSH subject headings help in selecting the best search terms.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
ATLA indexes religious and theological literature from over 1,600 journals plus books and edited works. It includes full-text articles from about 100 core journals. A special feature is the ability to search by scriptural citation.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields from 1940 to the present day. The Philosopher''s Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is an archived collection of 150 e-journals in language & literature, music, art & art history, religion, history, and Asian, Jewish, and African-American studies. The journals are a nearly complete run from vol. 1 up to 4 years prior to the current issue. The individual journals can also be located through Lumen.

Print Indexes

Depending on your topic, you may need to use some of the print resources in the library's reference collection for identifying articles:

Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature (Reference AI 3 .R48)

useful in identifying older news and popular press articles
covers 1890-present

Google Scholar

Tell Google you're affiliated with Regis and you'll be linked to resources in our library.

Click on Settings.
Type "Regis University" in the 'Library Links' section and select "Regis University - Full Text @ My Library."
Click Save.

Full Text Finder

If the full text of an article isn't available from the database you're searching, click on the Full Text Finder link that appears below the citation or abstract to see if it is available elsewhere. A new tab or window will open when you click the Full Text Finder link, and all linked options for accessing the full-text document will be listed. Links on this page are formatted to prompt the Regis login for subscription access. Options may include:

Check for full text at the publisher's site: this link will direct the user to the publisher's Web site while passing through our institutional subscription.
Find this article in full text from EBSCOhost SmartLinks+: this link will connect the user to the resource in our library system that provides full-text.
Find this article in full text from [database name]: this link will connect the user to a specific database in our system that provides access to the full-text document.
Request this item through interlibrary loan: if no other options are presented, the user can request a digital copy of the article using the interlibrary loan system.