Erich Katz Collection
Scope and Content
The Erich Katz Collection includes correspondence, programs, publications, manuscripts, legal documents, photos, art, clippings, recordings, and Katz’s personal files for the American Recorder Society. The materials within this collection were collected by Erich Katz over his adult life from 1918 to 1973. After 1973, there are items collected by others in relation to Katz. These items include condolence correspondence to Winifred Jaeger, articles about Katz, and programs from musical events held in his honor.
Series Listing and Description
Series 1 – Correspondence – Cartons 1, 2, & 3
This series is arranged into 8 subseries; People, Publishers, Correspondence in German, England, postcards, New York, Santa Barbara, and to Winifred Jaeger. The subseries “People” is arranged alphabetically by recipient, and the subseries “Publishers” is arranged alphabetically by publishing company. The rest of the subseries are arranged chronologically. The remainder subseries are left in the original order created by Winifred Jaeger. The correspondence dates from 1933 to 1973.
Series 2 – Biographical Materials – Carton 4
These files contain items that reflect the activities of Katz’s life, such as legal papers, resumes, certificates, licenses, clippings, letters of recommendation, immigration documents, class announcements, medical history, business papers and address books. Items are arranged chronologically.
Series 3 – Writings about Katz – Carton 5
These files contain published articles about Katz. Items are arranged chronologically.
Series 4 – Recordings by or about Katz – Carton 5
These files contain records and cassettes of concerts involving Katz and people speaking about Katz. Items are arranged chronologically.
Series 5 – Concerts – Carton 6
These files contain programs and bulletins for concerts involving Katz. Items are arranged chronologically.
Series 6 – Images – Carton 7
These files contain photographs, drawings, music, postcards, and art collected or created by Katz. Items are arranged by topic.
Series 7 – Katz’s American Recorder Society Files – Cartons 7 & 8
These files are Katz’s personal files that he kept while involved with the American Recorder Society. Items are arranged by topic.
Series 8 – Periodical Articles, Books, and Pamphlets – Carton 8
This series is composed of periodical articles, books, and pamphlets collected and saved by Katz. They are separated into German and English languages, then arranged chronologically.
Series 9 – Published Music – Cartons 9, 10, 11
This series is composed of published music by Katz. There is a sub-series for each of the publishers used. The folders contain manuscripts, Xerox copies, published copies, and correspondence. Arranged by publishing company.
Series 10 – Early Music and Manuscripts – Carton 11
This series is composed of early music and manuscripts written by Katz. The folders contain manuscripts and working papers from his student and teaching days while living in Germany.
Series 11 – Unpublished Music – Cartons 12 & 13
This series contains unpublished music composed by or edited by Katz. The folders contain original manuscripts, copies, notes, and programs.
Series 12 – Unpublished Music by Students or Colleagues – Carton 14
This series contains unpublished student or colleague manuscripts.
Series 13 – Orff-Schulwerk Materials – Carton 14
This series is composed of books and other materials from Orff-Schulwerk.
Series 14 – Teachings – Carton 15
The items in this collection are teaching materials used by Katz.
Series 15 – Writings – Carton 16
This series is composed of writings by Katz. Items include articles, notes, lyrics, scripts, poems, and essays. Items are in German and English.
Series 16 – Oversize Items
The oversized items within this collection include a collage by Katz, photographs, and a musical composition by Herman Kellman (a student of Katz.)
Other related collections stored within the Regis University Archives and Special Collections include;