The focus of this collection is Admiral Richard H. Truly's career with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) from 1969 to 1983 and from 1986 to 1992. The bulk of the collection consists of papers accumulated by Truly during his Administrative positions at NASA from 1986 to 1992. There are also some papers accumulated while he was an Astronaut (1969 to 1983), while Commander of the Naval Space Command (1983 to 1986), and while Director of Georgia Tech Research Institute (1992 to 1997). These papers include correspondence, speeches, to-do lists, schedules, daily logs, newspaper clippings, photographs, and technical reports and presentations.
The collection also includes books from Admiral Truly's library. Many have inscriptions and/or signatures. There are also some with letters or notes laid in. The books are mostly Military and Space Program related non-fiction, biography, and fiction.
There are 27 pieces of art, pertaining to his career, accumulated by Admiral Truly. These include photographs, original paintings, and prints from paintings. All but one are framed, the other is dry mounted.
Five artifacts are included. There are 3 Space Shuttle models. Two of these were given to Admiral Truly after the Enterprise Approach and landing tests. The other one was a retirement present. The other two artifacts are Naval items which were also retirement presents.
A large number of digital photo files are included. These files include scans of prints and documents from the Truly papers, from photos of the Art and Artifacts, from digital photo files off the internet, and from scans of slides donated by Truly to the Library media center.
The Regis University Archives and Special Collections are located in the Dayton Memorial Library in Suite 104.
All archives and collections are non-circulating and are accessible by appointment only.
Patrons that have not set an appointment are not guaranteed consultation with the archivist.
Before visiting please submit a research request via the research request form. Walk-in researchers are not guaranteed access to archival and collection materials.
Please contact Archives and Special Collections at 303.458.4128 or email email@example.com with any questions.