Guides: MAE 614 Action Research: Foundations: Articles

Find Articles

ERIC
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains references for citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals along with more than 2,200 digests.

How to find primary research articles in ERIC:

Use the Advanced Search option (default search screen)
Enter your search term(s) in the search box
Under Limit your results:
- Select the Peer Reviewed box
- Journal or Document: select Journal Articles (EJ)
- Publication type: select Reports - Research

Use the Date Published from limit to narrow your results to a particular date range.

What's the difference between and ERIC document (ED) and an ERIC journal article (EJ)?

ERIC documents are generally unpublished materials, such as papers read at conferences or reports from state agencies. Journal articles usually undergo some sort of editorial scrutiny, or review by a panel of experts (peer review) before they are published.

What if the "Full Text from ERIC" links are not working?

Go to the free ERIC site and search for the title of the article or document. You should then be able to retrieve the full text there. NOTE: Currently some ERIC documents from the eric.ed.gov site (Full text from ERIC) are unavailable. If you need an ERIC document, you can request it through interlibrary loan.

Other Sources

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This indexes 12,500 periodicals in the Social Sciences, Humanities, Arts, Physical Sciences, Medicine and Education, with 5,400 titles in full-text. The sources are a mix of academic, professional, and popular periodicals and newspapers.
Additional search help is available at: https://solutions.cengage.com/gale-training/materials/tip-sheets/
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A favorite for the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, medicine, and education, ASP indexes 8,200 periodicals. Full-text articles from 3,750 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals are found here, plus a number of popular sources.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is an archived collection of 150 e-journals in language & literature, music, art & art history, religion, history, and Asian, Jewish, and African-American studies. The journals are a nearly complete run from vol. 1 up to 4 years prior to the current issue. The individual journals can also be located through Lumen.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
MMY has descriptions and reviews for more than 2,000 testing instruments in psychology, education, business and leadership. TIP serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Access is limited to 4 concurrent users.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and select ebooks on ProQuest.
Additional search help is available at: http://proquest.libguides.com/databaseguides
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 49 psychology journals, including 40 from the American Psychological Association and 9 from allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present and includes over 25,000 articles, letters to the editor, and errata.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Article citations and detailed abstracts of articles from over 2,000 journals published internationally in all areas of psychology from 1872 to the present. Links to full-text articles from PsycARTICLES and Academic Search Premier.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations from over 1,700 journals in sociology, with additional abstracts from books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Coverage is from 1963 to the present.
Additional search help is available at: http://proquest.libguides.com/databaseguides
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. If you don't know the number of the tables you need, browse the index section to locate your subject and the corresponding table numbers. For access to pre-2013 statistics, visit the Census Bureau's archive.
Additional search help is available at: http://proquest.libguides.com/databaseguides
Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
TIP is now part of the Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print database. Serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, Alternative Press Index, America: History & Life, ATLA Religion Database, Business Source Complete, Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, CINAHL, Communication & Mass Media Complete, eBooks on EBSCOhost, ERIC, GreenFILE, Historical Abstracts, Mental Measurements Yearbook with Test in Print, MLA International Bibliography, Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, PsycCRITIQUES, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, SPORTDiscus
Also includes Communication Abstracts; EconLit; Environment Complete; European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750; Library Literature and Information Science; Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts; Newspaper Source Plus; and Social Sciences Full Text. Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Includes Biological Science Database, British Periodicals, the New York Times Backfile, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and the Wall Street Journal.
Additional search help is available at: http://proquest.libguides.com/databaseguides

Full Text Finder

If the full text of an article isn't available from the database you're searching, click on the Full Text Finder link that appears below the citation or abstract to see if it is available elsewhere. A new tab or window will open when you click the Full Text Finder link, and all linked options for accessing the full-text document will be listed. Links on this page are formatted to prompt the Regis login for subscription access. Options may include:

Check for full text at the publisher's site: this link will direct the user to the publisher's Web site while passing through our institutional subscription.
Find this article in full text from EBSCOhost SmartLinks+: this link will connect the user to the resource in our library system that provides full-text.
Find this article in full text from [database name]: this link will connect the user to a specific database in our system that provides access to the full-text document.
Request this item through interlibrary loan: if no other options are presented, the user can request a digital copy of the article using the interlibrary loan system.

Google Scholar

Tell Google you're affiliated with Regis and you'll be linked to resources in our library.

Click on Settings.
Type "Regis University" in the 'Library Links' section and select "Regis University - Full Text @ My Library."
Click Save.