Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action
http://www.arnova.org/
Association of Voluntary Action Scholars, the Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action, or ARNOVA, is a nonpartisan open forum committed to strengthening the research community in the field of nonprofit and philanthropic studies. Principal activities include an annual conference, publications, electronic discussions, and special interest groups.
Canadian Centre for Philanthropy
http://www.nonprofitscan.ca/report.asp
This library responds to the public's information needs by collecting, organizing, analyzing, and disseminating information on philanthropy, the nonprofit sector and voluntary action in Canada and internationally.
Charity Village
http://www.charityvillage.com
Canada's site for the nonprofit sector --- 3,000 pages of news, jobs, information and resources for executives, staffers, donors, and volunteers. Check out the research section for:
Energize
http://www.energizeinc.com
Articles on volunteerism research. Energize has been collecting volunteer management materials for three decades and therefore has one of the largest libraries in the world on this subject here in our Philadelphia office. Anyone who wants to do research (or self-education) to use the collection free of charge, but it is necessary to make an appointment in advance (materials can only be used in the office). A complete archive of all the journals in the field, from first issue to the present. Also a comprehensive collection of Canadian, British, and Australian publications. Over the years Energize has hosted researchers from around the world.
e-Volunteerism
http://e-volunteerism.com/index.php
Voices from the Past
History/Philosophy
Merrill Associates
Exploring the Value of Volunteering, Part I, Mary V. Merrill, LSW
Exploring the Value of Volunteering, Part I, Mary V. Merrill, LSW
Nonprofit Sector Research Fund
http://www.nonprofitresearch.org/
NSRF awards research grants to expand knowledge of the nonprofit sector and philanthropy, improve nonprofit practices, and inform public policy related to nonprofits.
Civic Engagement & Volunteerism
National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS)
http://nccs.urban.org/
The national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. Its mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society.
National Service-Learning and Civic Engagement Research Directory.
http://gse.berkeley.edu/research/slrdc/resdirectory
The research directory is an aggregation of the search pages of primary online resources related to service-learning and civic engagement research in K-12 education, teacher education, and higher education.
Rockefeller Archive Center
http://www.rockefeller.edu/archive.ctr/
The Rockefeller Archive Center was established in 1974 to assemble, process, and make available for scholarly research the papers of the Rockefeller family and the records of various philanthropic and educational institutions founded by the Rockefeller family. The Center has recently begun to collect non-Rockefeller philanthropic records, including the archives of the Commonwealth Fund, the Culpeper Foundation, the Russell Sage Foundation, the John and Mary Markle Foundation, and the Social Science Research Council.
Ryerson Centre for Voluntary Sector Studies (CVSS)
http://www.ryerson.ca/cvss/work.html
Social Science Research Council
http://www.ssrc.org/about
The SSRC is an independent, nonprofit organization. Based in New York City, it seeks to advance social science throughout the world, and supports research, education and scholarly exchange on every continent.
U.S. Information Agency
http://usinfo.state.gov/journals/itsv/0998/ijse/ijse0998.htm
An electronic journal of the U.S. Information Agency. "The United States: A Nation of Volunteers."
Volume 3, Number 2, September 1998
Voluntary Action
http://www.ivr.org.uk/voluntaryaction.htm
The journal of the Institute for Volunteering Research contains discourses and studies on volunteering and volunteers-- from volunteers' motivations, volunteer donor behavior -- as well as discussing volunteerism within the context of education and employment, government and public policy, management and professionalization to name a few.
Voluntas International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations
http://www.jhu.edu/%7Eistr/pubs/
A interdisciplinary academic journal, publishes articles that present theoretical and empirical work, introduces new topics and reviews, as well as critical commentary of research and policy.
World Volunteer Web
http://www.worldvolunteerweb.org/research/index.htm
Research into the nature and impact of volunteerism is key to strengthening the recognition of voluntary actions towards societies in the North and the South. Communities, research institutes and organizations are conducting studies on volunteerism, with a view to providing sufficient facts to show governments and decision-makers that volunteering is a key social force that deserves their support.
Non-Profit Academic Research Centers