Bureau of Labor Statistics
Released data that establishes a new baseline for volunteer service among US residents age 16 and over. To view a press release that highlights findings and interesting statistics related to volunteerism
Canadian survey on volunteering and giving - PDF File.
This report tells aa fascinating story about who Canada's volunteers, charitable donors and civic participators are and the ways in which they contribute to society.
CCD Build a Table Tool
Allows users to create customized tables using data from the Common Core of Data (CCD). As the Department of Education's primary database on elementary and secondary US public schools, the CCD provides national statistical data in three main categories: general descriptive information on schools and school districts; data on students and staff; and fiscal data, which covers revenues and current expenditures. With the Build a Table application, users can now design their own tables of CCD public school data for states, counties, and districts, using data from multiple years. There is a comprehensive tutorial available for first time users needing step-by-step instructions on the "build a table" process.
Census Bureau Statistics
Immediate access to a subject index, timely U.S. population, and the latest economic indicator. Improved navigation tools will make it easier for browsers to move among the Census Bureau's collection of 65,000 online statistical documents.
ClickZ Statistics Toolbox
A resources that allows visitors to easily find statistics, numbers, and tables that have run.
ERIC -The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
Is a national information system designed to provide users with ready access to an extensive body of education-related literature.
The Internet Archive
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, it provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public. The Internet Archive hosts the Wayback Machine, which makes it possible to surf more than 10 billion pages stored in the Internet Archive's web archive. I use it to find web pages that were removed when a site was "upgraded," or to find entire web sites that have disappeared from my bookmarks.
Giving in Tough Times: The Impact of Personal Economic Concerns on Giving and Volunteering,
The report reveals that when people are concerned about their personal finances, their overall giving declines by almost half and their volunteering decreases as well. The report includes a breakdown by household income and an examination of the effects on religious and secular giving.
National Archives and Record Administration: Access to Archival Databases
An online database that contains close to 50 million historical records, culled from 350 archival sources from 20 different federal agencies. From the homepage, visitors can learn about the architecture of the database, read about the terminology used on the site (and in the archives more generally), and how to get help using the archives.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The purpose of the National Center for Education Statistics' web site is to provide clear, complete information about NCES' mission and activities, and to serve the research and education community, as well as other interested communities.
NSF Data on the Internet
Find useful statistical data from NSF's Division of Science Resources Studies, responsible for collecting and publishing statistics on topics surveyed annually.
Salary Wizard
A quick guide based on national salary surveys, the Salary Wizard reports an average salary unadjusted for company size, industry pay differentials, and experience.
Statistics
Need some statistics for your report? Not sure where to begin? There are many sites on the Internet that can help you find statistics. One good starting point is Library Spot (libraryspot.com). Under the Reference Desk section of this site, you'll find a link for statistics that will bring you to another page linking you with 9 sites for finding the stats that you might need.