Doris M. Drury Papers

The Doris M. Drury Papers

 

Historical Note

           Doris M. Drury was born in Louisville, KY in 1929. She received both her master’s degree and PH. D in economics from Indiana University at Bloomington, IN. In 1963, she moved to Denver, CO and became an associate professor in economics at the University of Denver.

            Throughout her life, Drury opened doors for many women in the professional world, especially in the fields of economics and banking. She became the first full time female professor at the University of Denver in 1965, and was the chair of the Economics Department from 1972-1979. From 1979-1980, she served on the board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank in Denver and in 1980 became the first female chair of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, MO.

            Drury was a founding director of the Women’s Bank in Denver, CO in 1978 which gave women access to credit without the co-signature of their father or husband. In 1980, Drury was a founder of the Denver Exchange as the chair of a seven-woman board.

From 1989 until her retirement in 1997, Drury was executive director of the Master of Business Administration Program at Regis University. She taught at Regis University as the John J. Sullivan Professor of Free Enterprise Economics. Doris M. Drury died on March 16th, 1999.

Regis University Archivist

Profile Photo
Archives & Special Collections
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. You can email us at library@regis.edu.
Contact:
Dayton Memorial Library
archives@regis.edu
 
Research Help Desk
303.458.4031
1.800.388.2366 x4031
library@regis.edu
Book a Librarian

Access and Location

The Regis University Archives and Special Collections are located in the Dayton Memorial Library in Suite 104. 

All archives and collections are non-circulating and are accessible by appointment only. 

Patrons that have not set an appointment are not guaranteed consultation with the archivist.

Before visiting please submit a research request via the research request form. Walk-in researchers are not guaranteed access to archival and collection materials. 

Please contact Archives and Special Collections at 303.458.4128 or email archives@regis.edu with any questions.