This Guide has been arranged to help you with your Research needs. Any research question starts with gathering background information on your topic. Find background information in books, encyclopedias, and reputable websites. After you have identified your topic you may need to find journal literature on that topic. Use one of our many databases geared towards biological science information. After you have gathered your research, evaluate the authority, credibility and importance of the information for your assignment.
All collections are held at the Dayton Memorial Library or online.
If you need research help, make an appointment with Kim O'Neill, Librarian for the Loretto Heights School of Nursing, see information on right.
A favorite for the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, medicine, and education, ASP indexes 8,200 periodicals. Full-text articles from 3,750 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals are found here, plus a number of popular sources.
CINAHL is the professional source for full-text articles from over 580 journals in nursing and allied health. It also has citations and abstracts for many additional journals. Other publication types included are relevant legal cases, clinical innovations and trials, and citations to dissertations in nursing. CINAHL Headings help define search terms. Video tutorials for this database can be accessed here. The print indexes (vol. 1-21) cover the years 1965-1975 and are not duplicated in the online database. They can be found in DML 2nd floor Reference RT1 .C8
Considered the “gold standard” for evidence-based practice, Cochrane Library is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (“Reviews”), which has full-text evidence-based reviews of health care practices and treatments. Additional databases that are not full-text: abstracts of systematic reviews, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and citations to clinical trials.
The largest index of medical literature, MEDLINE has citations and abstracts from more than 5,000 journals worldwide. The citations link to full-text in our other databases, where available. The MeSH subject headings help in selecting the best search terms.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 10 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. See PubMed Quick Start for more information.
This research guide was developed with the public in mind. It provides many free and useful tools for the layperson and may be helpful to you if you need to get some basic information on a topic or want to use one of the cool widgets.