Mental Health Nursing

This guide directs students to resources for Psychiatric and Mental Health.

LumenPlus: Search for articles, books, media, and more...

LumenPlus

Advanced Search

Books and e-books

DSM-5-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis

The DSM-5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis is the preeminent guide to differential diagnosis for both clinicians and students learning psychiatric diagnosis. Fully updated to reflect the recent Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), this handbook includes two newly developed diagnostic trees (for dissociative symptoms and repetitive pathological behaviors).

Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing

With an accessible, clear and student-friendly approach, Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing clarifies challenging concepts and helps you build a foundation for working successfully with clients experiencing mental health challenges regardless of care setting. The text explores the full spectrum of psychiatric nursing, helping you master specific nursing interventions, hone your therapeutic communication skills and learn to apply content effectively within the framework of the nursing process.

Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing: A communication approach to evidence-based care

Perfect for shorter psychiatric nursing courses, this streamlined psychiatric text includes need to know information and key DSM-5 content you need to pass your course and prepare for the NCLEX®. A neurobiology of the brain teaching tool provides a visual depiction of how the disorder affects brain function - and what drugs are used to treat it. Additionally, this new edition includes Giddens Concept boxes, Integrative Care boxes, updated clinical disorders chapters, and new use of nursing diagnosis language International Classification for Nursing Practice (ICNP) which smooths your transition into practice, as this is a common language shared with many electronic health record documentation systems.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR®)

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®)

This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5(R)), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5(R) easier to use across all settings.

DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis

The DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis is the preeminent guide to differential diagnosis for both clinicians and students learning psychiatric diagnosis. Based closely on the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, it offers a rich selection of perspectives in an easy-to-use format. The author, an expert on psychiatric diagnosis and assessment, recognizes that psychological distress cannot be reduced to a rubric. The clinician must have empathy, listening skills, the ability to identify symptoms and contextualize them, and a familiarity with the body of knowledge represented by DSM-5®. The handbook brings these critical skills together in a well-written, accessible, and reader-friendly volume that is grounded in the latest research and standard of practice. The handbook offers an assortment of approaches to differential diagnosis, and a number of features designed to benefit clinicians in the exam room.

Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing

The 8th edition text provides the foundational knowledge students need to master psych content. Whether it's an entire course on psychiatric nursing or integrating these principles into an existing course, this text is concise, engaging and informative. It offers a holistic approach to mental health nursing that explores nursing diagnoses for both physiological and psychological disorders.