Guides: Law Research Guide: Books

Lumen Classic, the Library Catalog

Use Lumen, the Regis Library catalog, to find books, electronic books, DVDs, and more.

Prospector Catalog

Use Prospector to search for and request items from Regis University or other regional libraries. When you identify an item you want in Prospector, click on the "Request this Item" link to have it sent to a Regis Colorado campus. You will need your Regis ID number to complete the request process.

Law Reference Books

Reference books for Law include:

Black's Law Dictionary
call number: REF KF 156 .B53 2004
This classic legal dictionary includes comprehensive definitions of terms from every field of law.

Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS)
available online; in print at REF KFC 1829 .C65
The CRS is a codified arrangement of our state laws; multiple volumes plus supplements. Includes Colorado Court Rules and the state Constitution.

United States Code
available online; in print at REF K 44 .C4
The federal code of laws arranged by "title" or broad topic; multiple volumes plus supplements.

Google Books

Other Catalogs

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat, or World Catalog, lists all types of library materials from libraries worldwide. The libraries that own each item are also listed. No full-text is available online for items listed in WorldCat.

Electronic Book Collections

Ebook Collections
A guide to ebook collections available through the Regis University Library.

Books 24x7 This link opens in a new window
Please log out when finished with this valuable collection of full-text electronic books. Thousands of current titles, especially in IT, business, nonprofit management and leadership are here. Search by keyword in title or even in full-text. Build your own list of favorites and bookmark.
Each title is also cataloged in Lumen with a hot link.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo contains 410 reference dictionaries and handbooks in all subject areas. You’ll find entries for words, concepts, phenomena, quotes, figures, formulae, or historical or cultural events. Subjects range broadly over the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and foreign languages.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to begin for research in humanities, social sciences, health, education, religion, business, biography, art, or law. GVRL has the multi-volume Dictionary of American History, Business Plans Handbook, and complete encyclopedias of Education, Sociology, Mental Health, Philosophy, Religion, Judaism and Catholicism.
Additional search help is available at: https://solutions.cengage.com/gale-training/materials/tip-sheets/
O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window
A collection of online information technology books, including materials published by O'Reilly, Project Management Institute, Adobe Press, Microsoft Press, and Oracle Press. Covers topics such as certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more. On the login page, from the drop down list of institutions, select "Not Listed? Click here". Enter your regis.edu to register. You will have immediate access to Safari. Check your inbox for a “Welcome to O'Reilly” email to access additional features (check your spam filter if you do not receive the email).
The only information required to obtain temporary access is a Regis email address. Other information is optional and used to provide customized result. Any information you enter, including your Regis email address, is protected by the O'Reilly Privacy Policy.