Peace & Justice Research Guide

Getting started with Research

Use our catalog, LumenPlus, to search for your keywords and material type to find other reference items. Source types like encyclopedias, almanacs and atlases are under All Filters -- Source Type -- Research starters.

LumenPlus

Advanced Search

Books and e-books

Women's rights in the United States : a comprehensive encyclopedia of issues, events, and people

Through 4 volumes and more than 800 entries, editor Tiffany K. Wayne, with advising editor Lois Banner, examine the issues, people, and events of women's activism, from the early period of American history to the present time. This comprehensive reference not only traces the historical evolution of the movement, but also covers current issues affecting women, such as reproductive freedom, political participation, pay equity, violence against women, and gay civil rights.

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender

Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more.

Encyclopedia of human rights [electronic resource]

The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy

Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.

Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics

The Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics includes A to Z entries by experts in the field that explore the scope of ethical decision making and behaviors within the spheres of criminal justice systems, including policing, corrections, courts, forensic science, and policy analysis and research.

Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics

This Encyclopedia offers a definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important new area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them.

Criminal Justice in America : The Encyclopedia of Crime, Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections [2 Volumes]

This authoritative set provides a comprehensive overview of issues and trends in crime, law enforcement, courts, and corrections that encompass the field of criminal justice studies in the United States.

Library Databases

You can use the databases below to search for topics around politics, social movements, and important issues. Search for names, events or even policy problems. Use Opposing Viewpoints for their Viewpoint arguments to get a better understanding of foundational concepts.

Subjects: Peace & Justice