Prospector Catalog
Use Prospector to search for and request items from Regis University or other regional libraries. When you identify an item you want in Prospector, click on the "Request this Item" link to have it sent to a Regis Colorado campus. You will need your Regis ID number to complete the request process.
LumenPlus: Search for articles, books, media, and more...
- What is LumenPlus? A user guide for LumenPlus, the Regis Lbrary's instance of the EBSCO Discovery Service.
Books and e-books
LGBTQ Social Movements
LGBTQ Social Movements provides an accessible introduction to mainstream LGBTQ movements in the US, illustrating the many forms that LGBTQ activism has taken since the mid-twentieth century. Covering a range of topics, including the Stonewall uprising and gay liberation, AIDS politics, queer activism, marriage equality fights, youth action, and bisexual and transgender justice, Lisa M. Stulberg explores how marginalized people and communities have used a wide range of political and cultural tools to demand and create change.
Social Justice : Theories, Issues, and Movements
An eye for an eye, the balance of the scales - for centuries, these and other traditional concepts exemplified the public's perception of justice. Today, popular culture, including television shows like Law and Order, informs the public's vision. But do age-old symbols, portrayals in the media, and existing systems truly represent justice in all of its nuanced forms, or do we need to think beyond these notions? The second edition of Social Justice: Theories, Issues, and Movements responds to the need for a comprehensive introduction to these issues.
Occupying Disability: Critical Approaches to Community, Justice, and Decolonizing Disability
This book explores the concept of "occupation" in disability well beyond traditional clinical formulations of disability: it considers disability not in terms of pathology or impairment, but as a range of unique social identities and experiences that are shaped by visible or invisible diagnoses/impairments, socio-cultural perceptions and environmental barriers and offers innovative ideas on how to apply theoretical training to real world contexts.
A transition to sustainable housing : progress and prospects for a low carbon housing future
This open access book explores the environmental, social, and financial challenges of housing provision, and the urgent need for a sustainable housing transition. The authors explore how market failures have impacted the scaling up of sustainable housing and the various policy attempts to address this. Going beyond an environmental focus, the book explores a range of housing-related challenges including social justice and equity issues.
The Handbook of Global Climate and Environment Policy
The Handbook of Global Climate and Environment Policy presents an authoritative and comprehensive overview of global policy on climate and the environment. It combines the strengths of an interdisciplinary team of experts from around the world to explore current debates and the latest thinking in the search for global environmental solutions. Explores the environmental challenges we currently face, and the concepts and approaches to solving these Questions the role of global actors, institutions and processes, and considers the links between global climate and environment policy, and that of the global economy Highlights the connections between social science research and global policy Brings together authoritative coverage of recent research by internationally-renowned experts from around the world, including from North America, Europe, and Asia Provides an essential resource guide for students and researchers from across a wide range of related disciplines - from politics and international relations, to environmental sciences and sociology - and for global policy practitioners
The Good Food Revolution
A pioneering urban farmer and MacArthur "Genius Award" winner points the way to building a new food system that can feed--and heal--broken communities. The son of a sharecropper, Will Allen had no intention of ever becoming a farmer himself. But after years in professional basketball and as an executive for Kentucky Fried Chicken and Procter & Gamble, Allen cashed in his retirement fund for a two-acre plot a half mile away from Milwaukee's largest public housing project. The area was a food desert with only convenience stores and fast-food restaurants to serve the needs of local residents. In the face of financial challenges and daunting odds, Allen built the country's preeminent urban farm--a food and educational center that now produces enough vegetables and fish year-round to feed thousands of people. Employing young people from the neighboring housing project and community, Growing Power has sought to prove that local food systems can help troubled youths, dismantle racism, create jobs, bring urban and rural communities closer together, and improve public health. Today, Allen's organization helps develop community food systems across the country. An eco-classic in the making, The Good Food Revolution is the story of Will's personal journey, the lives he has touched, and a grassroots movement that is changing the way our nation eats.
Library Databases
- Books 24x7 This link opens in a new windowPlease log out when finished with this valuable collection of full-text electronic books. Thousands of current titles, especially in IT, business, nonprofit management and leadership are here. Search by keyword in title or even in full-text. Build your own list of favorites and bookmark.