Guides: Business Research Guide: Web Sites & Podcasts

Evaluating Internet Resources

Some things to consider:

- Who authored the piece? Is there evidence of an advanced degree, an institutional affiliation, or a record of research?

- What is the source? Does it come from a reputable agency, organization, or research institute?

- How current is it? Does it have a date? Is this a topic that changes quickly?

- Is the source well researched? Does it cite other studies or authors?

- How objective is it? Is this just an opinion piece or does it rely on documentable evidence?

Web Sites

AllBusiness
How to start and operate a business – checklists, planning, credit, finance, accounting, taxes, technology, green business, working with a lawyer, and a large franchise directory.
American Community Survey Briefs (U.S.)
These are brief, recent updates from Census on poverty, income, health insurance coverage and more.
American Time Use Survey (U.S.)
How do Americans 15 and over use their time? The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides the numbers in news releases and tables, sorted by gender.
AnnualReports.com
This free service provides current annual reports to shareholders and links to SEC 10-K's.
Bloomberg / Business Week
The popular business magazine and its special reports.
BRASS Best of the Best Advertising & Marketing Websites
A selective list of good public websites and advertising and marketing.
BRASS Best of the Best American Corporation Websites
A list of good public Websites on American corporations, their stock, filings, and Fortune / Forbes Lists
BRASS Best of the Best Banking Websites
The Federal Reserve system's publications and statistical reports are featured. Other parts include regulation, financial statements, and industry data.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S.)
BEA reports GDP; local employment and earnings; consumer spending; corporate profits; balance of payments; trade in goods and services; and foreign direct investment.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S.)
The BLS reports on earnings, employment, layoffs, cost of benefits, CPI, Producer Price Index, and contains the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Business for Social Responsibility
This network develops sustainable strategies and solutions through research and collaboration on the environment, human rights, economic development, governance, and accountability.
Business Law Section of the American Bar Association
Access to full-text articles from Business Law Today, along with important updates and new developments in business law.
Charity Navigator
An independent charity evaluator, provides free financial evaluations of America's charities.
City and County of Denver - Human Rights & Community Partnerships
Human Rights & Community Partnerships works to create lasting change for Denver's residents through advocacy, capacity building, partnerships, community engagement, and direct services.
Inclusiveness is the cornerstone of our work. Every day we strive to give voices to the voiceless and to create a world-class city where everyone matters.
Colorado Business and Economic Information
Provides advice on starting a business in Colorado; a business resource guide; info on demographics, inflation, trade names, and taxation; and links to Dept. of Labor & Employment.
Colorado Business Economic Outlook & Forum 2022
The Business Research Division conducts economic impact studies and customized research projects that assist companies, associations, nonprofits, and government agencies with making sound business and policy decisions.
*Link is to the Leeds School of Business website where you can download the report.
Colorado Economic Demographic Information System
Data & Information on population, housing & household, employment, finance & tax base, income & earnings data.
Consumer Expenditure Survey (U.S.)
The only federal survey that completely covers consumer characteristics, incomes, and detailed expenditures.
Doing Business in Colorado
Links to small business development programs, labor force data, demographics, Dept. of Revenue, chambers of commerce, & more state resources supporting business in Colorado.
Economic Census Data
The Economic Census is conducted every 5 years and uses the American Factfinder search engine. This data provides the foundation for start-ups and existing establishments to make decisions on locations, marketing, business plans, and the cost of benefits. Nonprofits are included in the census.
Economic Indicators
Economic Indicators is a monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the congressional Joint Economic Committee. It provides information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Export.gov
This government site teaches export basics, answers tariff and logistics questions, and has trade data, analysis, and market research. The Trade Information Center is merged here.
Federal Reserve Committee Transcripts and Historical Material
Transcripts of the FOMC meetings are verbatim remarks by Fed governors on economic conditions and monetary policy. Remarks are embargoed for 5 years. The Beige Book summarizes economic activity in each Fed region. The minutes start in the late 1930’s.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (U.S.)
Use FRED to view or download business, financial, monetary, consumer, and employment charts. The St. Louis Fed organizes the data into 15 categories with hundreds of files each.
Morning Brew
A daily digest of all things economy & business. Sign up for daily newsletter filled with information to make you smarter!
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The popular Dept. of Labor guide to more than 300 professions and occupations.
Online Women's Business Center
The Office of Women’s Business Ownership’s mission is to enable and empower women entrepreneurs through advocacy, outreach, education and support. Through the management and technical assistance provided by the WBCs, entrepreneurs, especially women who are economically or socially disadvantaged, are offered comprehensive training and counseling on a vast array of topics in many languages to help them start and grow their own businesses.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The best handbook for data on American production, prices, population, resources, trade, technology, income, spending and savings, as reported by federal agencies.
more...less...
Though the federal government stopped updating Statistical Abstract in 2011, the title continues as a Proquest database. See our library database list for the current edition or follow this link https://lumen.regis.edu/record=b1528823~S3
US Department of Commerce
Searchable site includes agencies such as Census, NOAA, International Trade Administration, Patent & Trademark Office and the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

Podcasts

Bloomberg Podcasts
Ranging in topics from Bloomberg Technology journalists to newest market crazes, and the global economy.
Freakonomics
Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. Each week, Freakonomics Radio tells you things you always thought you knew (but didn’t) and things you never thought you wanted to know (but do) — from the economics of sleep to how to become great at just about anything. Dubner speaks with Nobel laureates and provocateurs, intellectuals and entrepreneurs, and various other underachievers.
HBR IdeaCast
A weekly podcast featuring the leading thinkers in business and management.
How I Built This with Guy Raz
Guy Raz dives into the stories behind some of the world's best known companies. How I Built This weaves a narrative journey about innovators, entrepreneurs and idealists—and the movements they built.
Marketplace
Daily business news and economic stories from Marketplace. It also includes podcasts for shows about Tech, Make Me Smart, Million Bazzillion, and more.
The Morning Brew - Business Casual
Timely topics from Tiny Homes solving the housing crisis for Veterans to NFL player, Ndamukong Suh, discussing financial literacy among professional athletes.
Planet Money
The economy explained. Imagine you could call up a friend and say, "Meet me at the bar and tell me what's going on with the economy." Now imagine that's actually a fun evening.
To the Extent That...Podcast Series
A new podcast series presented by the ABA Business Law Section. Legal luminaries discuss groundbreaking cases, changes in the legal landscape, regulatory challenges, and more.