Getting Started
This guide suggests useful research resources for your COM 250 class from the Regis Library. Please ask us for help selecting, connecting to, and using our resources. Remote access to subscription resources is available to current students, faculty, and staff with a valid Regis login.
Looking for background information on a topic? Start here:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowThis is a great place to begin for research in humanities, social sciences, health, education, religion, business, biography, art, or law. GVRL has the multi-volume Dictionary of American History, Business Plans Handbook, and complete encyclopedias of Education, Sociology, Mental Health, Philosophy, Religion, Judaism and Catholicism.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowFind overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
LumenPlus: Search for articles, books, media, and more...
- What is LumenPlus? A user guide for LumenPlus, the Regis Lbrary's instance of the EBSCO Discovery Service.
Additional Resources
- The Denver Post at the Denver Public LibraryThis link will take you to the Denver Public Library's database for the Denver Post. As of 2017, Regis University no longer has an institutional subscription to the Denver Post online. You can access the Denver Post by obtaining a Denver Public Library card. Click here to sign up for a DPL card. All Regis students are eligible for DPL cards with quick online sign up.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy has more than 26,000 films in its collection - including leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources - on every topic imaginable. Kanopy’s viewing platform makes it easy to watch films at your own convenience.
Find Images
Need images for your presentation? Check out these resources:
Research and Instruction Librarian
Demographics and Statistics
For demographic information on communities, use the following resources:
-
Explore Census DataPopulation, housing, income, and business statistics from the 1990 and 2000 censuses, searchable down to state, county, and place name levels.
-
Community Facts (Piton Foundation)Community Facts is a tool developed by The Piton Foundation to make data about the health and well-being of Denver-area families and communities widely accessible. Community Facts provides detailed information about geographical areas related to demographics, education, housing, economics, health, safety, and more. It includes data available in tables, maps and graphs.