The Regis University Archives and Special Collections are composed of over 40 different collections.
The Regis University Archives contain historical institution records, photographs, manuscripts, and publications. Our Special Collections are composed of collections which support, document, and augment the educational resources, academic programs, and culture of the university. The collections contain papers, manuscripts, art, photographs, political ephemera, and more.
For research requests and inquiries please view our Research Request policy and fill out the Research Request form.
For potential gifts and acquisitions to our archives and special collections please view our Gift and Acquisition policy.
Regis University Archives and Special Collections invites patrons to initiate their requests through the Research Request Form below. Regis University Archives and Special Collections will respond to reference requests in the order that we receive them, with researchers being consulted about their research topic within three weeks of placing their request.
It is the responsibility of the researcher to examine the unrestricted materials in the collections. We are sensitive, however, to the challenges of travel involved in historical research. We will provide up to one and a half hours of research on behalf of a researcher. This hour includes spent scanning to provide the researcher with digital copies of materials in the archives. Digital copies of archival materials will be provided at the discretion of the staff, depending on the amount and condition of the materials. Beyond this one and a half hour, the researcher may examine the materials during a visit to the archives or may arrange for contract work with a professional assistant.
Gift and Acquisition Policy
1. Gifts to the Regis University Archives and Special Collections shall be accepted if they provide material that documents the institutional history, life, and culture of the university, its predeccessor institutions, and Loretto Heights College, and/or augment the educational resources petinent to the academic programs of the university.
2. Acceptance of gifts housed in the Regis University Archives and Special Collections will be determined by the Dean of the Library and/or the Archivist.
3. Substantial major gifts to Regis University Archives and Special Collections [gifts over $5,000.000] will be handled by the Dean of the Library and the Archivist in concert with University Relations.
4. Gifts accepted by the Dean of the Library and/or the Archivist will be acknowledged by a Gift Receipt.
5. The Archives and Special Collections will provide a secure and stable enviromnent for the materials and will house, organize, describe, and maintain them in accordance with accepted archival principles and procedures to ensure both preservation and accessibility to researchers, faculty, students, and alumni. All archival materials and collections are preserved in a climate-conrolled environment.
6. All archival collections will be available to all qualified researchers on equal terms of access. Any restrictions of access requested by the donor for reasons of confidentiality must be noted on the Gift Receipt and agreed to by the Dean of the Library and/or the Archivist.
7. Materials which are determined to have no permanent value, historical interest, or are surplus to the needs of Regis University or Loretto Heights College will be discarded, or, returned to the donor, if indicated on the Gift Receipt.
The Regis University Archives and Special Collections are located in the Dayton Memorial Library in Suite 104.
All archives and collections are non-circulating and are accessible by appointment only.
Patrons that have not set an appointment are not guaranteed consultation with the archivist.
Before visiting please submit a research request via the research request form. Walk-in researchers are not guaranteed access to archival and collection materials.
Please contact Archives and Special Collections at 303.458.4128 or email email@example.com with any questions.