Martha Bixler Collection
Scope and Content
The Martha Bixler Collection contains photographs, unedited transcripts, and cassette recordings from a series of interviews conducted in 1988 with key members of the American Recorder Society for publication in the American Recorder Society Magazine, 1988 -1989. Many of the interviews were conducted by Martha Bixler in conjunction with other members of the American Recorder Society Board and staff.
Also included in this collection are copies of serials from the 1950s through the 1990s that celebrate recorder music.
Series Listing and Description
Series 1 - Photographs
This series contains the photographs [some galley sheets] of founding members Of the American Recorder Society [ARS] that were interviewed in 1988 for publication in the American Recorder Society magazine.
Series 2 - Transcripts
The interviews of founding ARS members include a transcript. Many of these interviews were conducted by Bixler in conjunction with other ARS members. Although not an interview, this series also includes a short memoir written by Frances Dwight.
Series 3 - Publications
This series contains selected issues of magazines dedicated to early music, specifically the recorder.
Series 4 - Audio Cassettes
As well as having photographs and transcripts of the ARS interviews, some of the interviews were recorded on cassettes. There are also additional interviews whose only record is the audio cassette.
Series 5 - Memoir
The American Recorder Society and Me… a memoir, by Martha Bixler. This personal history traces the founding of the ARS from 1939 to 2010, as well as a brief account and timeline of the ARS chapters , 1939 – 1995.
Other related collections stored within the Regis University Archives and Special Collections include;