Jesuitica Collection
Scope and Content
The Jesuitica Collection includes publications and manuscripts documenting Jesuit, Catholic, and early Colorado history in the Southwest United States. The focus of the collection are the early Jesuit missions in New Mexico and Colorado during the 1860’s and their subsequent expansion and impact upon the Southwest during the 20th century.
Materials in this collection include letters, land deeds, manuscripts, parish house diaries, obituaries, clippings, photographs, and memorabilia. Missions with the most material in Colorado are those of Conejos, Denver, and Pueblo. The Denver mission includes house diaries connected with the Sacred Heart College in Morrison and Denver, which is the former name of Regis University.
Series Listing and Description
Series 1 – New Mexico/Colorado – Fireproof Cabinet
This series documents the early history of the Jesuit mission in Las Vegas, New Mexico and Denver, Colorado dating back to the late 1860’s. Items in this collection are organized into 8 subseries; Manuscripts, Correspondence, Las Vegas Controversy, Profiles, Obituaries, Clippings, Photographs, and Research. Items date from 1866 to 2004.
Series 2 – Albuquerque, New Mexico – Fireproof Cabinet
This series includes items from the Jesuit mission in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The series is organized into 5 subseries; Manuscripts, Correspondence, Parish Documents, Photographs, and Photocopied Documents. Items date from 1883 to 1993.
Series 3 – Conejos, Colorado – Fireproof Cabinet
This series includes items from the Jesuit mission in Southern Colorado, specifically that of Conejos, Colorado. The series is organized into 5 subseries; Parish Documents, Correspondence, Diaries, Photographs, and Research. Items date from 1859 to 1947.
Series 4 – Del Norte, Colorado – Fireproof Cabinet
This series documents the Jesuit mission in Del Norte, Colorado. The series is organized into 3 subseries; Parish Documents, Correspondence, and Photographs. Items date from 1895 to 1982.
Series 5 – Denver, Colorado – Fireproof Cabinet, Cartons 1 & 2
This series documents the Jesuit mission in Denver, Colorado. It is one of the largest series in the collection and is organized into 5 subseries; Parish Documents, Correspondence, Diaries, Clippings, and Manuscripts. The items in this collection contain information on the early days of Regis University. Items date from 1879 to 1992.
Series 6 – El Paso, Texas – Carton 2
This series documents the Jesuit mission in El Paso, Texas. The series is organized into 3 subseries; Parish Documents, Clippings, and Research. Items date from 1889 to 1931.
Series 7 – Las Animas, Colorado – Carton 2
This series documents the Jesuit mission in Las Animas, Colorado. The single item within this collection is a Residence History from 1934.
Series 8 – La Junta, Colorado – Carton 2
This series documents the Jesuit mission in La Junta, Colorado. This series is composed of clippings from the 1930s.
Series 9 – La Junta, New Mexico – Carton 2
This series documents the Jesuit mission in La Junta, New Mexico. The items within this series include a collection history and related clippings.
Series 10 – Monte Vista, Colorado – Carton 2
This series documents the Jesuit mission in Monte Vista, Colorado. The series is composed on parish documents, including a construction contract and warranty deeds.
Series 11 – Pueblo, Colorado – Cartons 2, 3, 4, & 5
This series documents the Jesuit mission in Pueblo, Colorado. This series is the largest of the collection and is organized into 4 subseries by church; Mt. Carmel, St. Ignatius, St. Joseph’s, and St. Patrick’s. These 4 subseries are further organized into categories such as parish documents, correspondence, diaries, manuscripts, photographs, and clippings. Items date from 1876 to 1995.
Series 12 – Trinidad, Colorado – Carton 5
This series documents the Jesuit mission in Trinidad, Colorado. The series is organized into 4 subseries; Parish Documents, Manuscripts, Photographs, and Clippings. Items date from 1876 to 1986.
Series 13 – OV Items/ Memorabilia – Carton 5, OV Box
This series is composed of the oversized material in the Jesuitica collection and memorabilia items. Memorabilia items included holy cards, prayer cards, death cards, a crucifix, rope scourges, metal cilices, religious medals, and misery beads. Oversized items include hotel registers, a scrapbook, a photograph, a mounted document, and other items.
Other related collections stored within the Regis University Archives and Special Collections include;