Books and e-books
Encyclopedia of American Jewish History
Written by the most prominent scholars in American Jewish history, this encyclopedia illuminates the varied experiences of America's Jews and their impact on American society and culture over three and a half centuries.
Outlines of Jewish History from B. C. 586 to C. E. 1885
Outlines of Jewish History from B.C. 586 to C.E. 1885 traces Jewish history from Biblical times to 1885. This book presents a fair and impartial narrative that makes Jewish history interesting to the reader.
The Palgrave Dictionary of Medieval Anglo-Jewish History
Using a wide range of rich original sources, this unique reference guide provides a remarkable picture of England's medieval Jewry. Following an extensive introduction, the dictionary includes illustrations, maps, and over 40 topographic, 30 biographic and 80 general entries, including texts of key legislation.
Sephardi Lives : A Documentary History, 1700–1950
This ground-breaking documentary history contains over 150 primary sources originally written in 15 languages by or about Sephardi Jews--descendants of Jews who fled medieval Spain and Portugal settling in the western portions of the Ottoman Empire, including the Balkans, Anatolia, and Palestine.
The Holocaust in Eastern Europe : At the Epicenter of the Final Solution
Waitman Wade Beorn's The Holocaust in Eastern Europe provides a comprehensive history of the Holocaust in the region that was the central location of the event itself while including material often overlooked in general Holocaust history texts.
The Jewish Diaspora after 1945: A Study of Jewish Communities in the Middle East and North Africa
Jews have played an integral role in the Arab world, Turkey, Iran, and North Africa for millennia. Their lives were intertwined with those of the majority non-Jewish communities among whom they dwelt: their mass expulsion and emigration after World War II ended the existence of a vital part of nearly all the societies in the region.
Jewish emancipation : a history across five centuries
In this book, David Sorkin seeks to reorient Jewish history by offering the first comprehensive account in any language of the process by which Jews became citizens with civil and political rights in the modern world. Ranging from the mid-sixteenth century to the beginning of the twenty-first, Jewish Emancipation tells the ongoing story of how Jews have gained, kept, lost, and recovered rights in Europe, North Africa, the Middle East, the United States, and Israel.
Open Internet Collections
- Library of Congress -- Hebraic ManuscriptsThe Hebraic Section of the Library of Congress houses some 230 manuscripts written in Hebrew and in cognate languages such as Judeo-Arabic, Judeo-Persian, and Yiddish. It is a highly diverse collection with materials ranging from rabbinic responsa and commentary to poetry, Jewish magic, and folk medicine, and together they offer a rich, often intimate glimpse into Jewish life over the centuries.
- SefariaSefaria is a nonprofit organization dedicated to building the future of Jewish learning in an open and participatory way. We are assembling a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation. With these digital texts, we can create new, interactive interfaces for Web, tablet and mobile, allowing more people to engage with the textual treasures of our tradition.