Books and e-books
Encyclopedia of ancient deities
This reference work lists all the known gods through recorded history. Alphabetically arranged entries provide the name of each deity (with alternate spellings), as well as notes on names that may be linguistically or functionally related. The tribe or culture that worshiped the deity is identified, and the god's origins and functions are explained.
Ancient African religions : a history
This text examines the history of religions in Africa from the burial practices of the earliest humans to the rise of centralized theocratic kingdoms like ancient Egypt up to the rise of Islam in the Seventh Century.
Lived Religion in the Ancient Mediterranean World
The Lived Ancient Religion project has radically changed perspectives on ancient religions and their supposedly personal or public character. This volume applies and further develops these methodological tools, new perspectives and new questions.
Religious Convergence in the Ancient Mediterranean
This volume brings together scholars in religion, archaeology, philology, and history to explore case studies and theoretical models of converging religions. The twenty-four essays offered in this volume, which derive from Hittite, Cilician, Lydian, Phoenician, Greek, and Roman cultural settings, focus on encounters at the boundaries of cultures, landscapes, chronologies, social class and status, the imaginary, and the materially operative.
A Handbook of Gods and Goddesses of the Ancient Near East : Three Thousand Deities of Anatolia, Syria, Israel, Sumer, Babylonia, Assyria, and Elam
From the tragic young Adonis to Zashapuna, first among goddesses, this handbook provides the most complete information available on deities from the cultures and religions of the ancient Near East, including Anatolia, Syria, Israel, Sumer, Babylonia, Assyria, and Elam.
Encyclopedia of Fairies in World Folklore and Mythology
Fairies have been revered and feared, sometimes simultaneously, throughout recorded history. This encyclopedia of concise entries, from the A-senee-ki-waku of northeastern North America to the Zips of Central America and Mexico, includes more than 2,500 individual beings and species of fairy and nature spirits from a wide range of mythologies and religions from all over the globe.
Open Internet Collections
- MythopediaMythopedia is an online endeavor to collect and organize myths from around the world's cultures. Explore from the Vikings to Aztecs.
- Hawaiian Legends IndexMaintained by the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, this collection can be searched or browsed to find lists of resources for each myth or figure.