Books and e-books
Creating the Qur’an : A Historical-Critical Study
Creating the Qur'an presents the first systematic historical-critical study of the Qur'an's origins, drawing on methods and perspectives commonly used to study other scriptural traditions. Demonstrating in detail that the Islamic tradition relates not a single attested account of the holy text's formation, Stephen J. Shoemaker shows how the Qur'an preserves a surprisingly diverse array of memories regarding the text's early history and its canonization.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Across the Worlds of Islam : Muslim Identities, Beliefs, and Practices From Asia to America
This book offers an inclusive view of the diversity and complexity of the many worlds of Islam, investigating ethics and aesthetics as much as scriptures and theology. By paying attention to Muslims who are socially, culturally, doctrinally, or politically marginalized, it provides a comprehensive and all-embracing vision of the religion and its many interrelated communities. Contributors from a range of personal and intellectual backgrounds explore the capaciousness of Muslim identities, helping readers achieve a broader understanding of the past, present, and future of the Muslim world.
The New Encyclopedia of Islam
The New Encyclopedia of Islam is unique as a single-volume work that encompasses the beliefs, practices, history, and culture of the Islamic world.
The house of wisdom : how Arabic science saved ancient knowledge and gave us the Renaissance
The Arabic legacy of science and philosophy has long been hidden from the West. British-Iraqi physicist Jim Al-Khalili unveils that legacy to fascinating effect by returning to its roots in the hubs of Arab innovation that would advance science and jump-start the European Renaissance. Inspired by the Koranic injunction to study closely all of God's works, rulers throughout the Islamic world funded armies of scholars who gathered and translated Persian, Sanskrit, and Greek texts. From the ninth through the fourteenth centuries, these scholars built upon those foundations a scientific revolution that bridged the one-thousand-year gap between the ancient Greeks and the European Renaissance.
Open Internet Collections
- Library of Congress -- Islamic Manuscripts from MaliThis online collection contains over 30 digitized manuscripts from the Mamma Haidara Commemorative Library and the Library of Cheick Zayni Baye of Boujbeha, both located in Timbuktu, Mali. This collection showcases the wide variety of subjects covered by the written traditions of Timbuktu, Mali, and West Africa. The manuscripts are written in various styles of the Arabic script that were developed in Timbuktu and the surrounding regions of Mali and West Africa, and have long been recognized by Malians as an important look into their cultural heritage.
- The Minassian collection of Qur’anic foliosThis database catalogues the holdings of over 200 Qur’anic manuscript folios dating from the 9th to the 16th centuries housed within the special collections of the Brown University libraries. In addition to the forty distinct manuscripts of the Qur’an represented here, the collection includes numerous Persian manuscripts, calligraphic panels, Persian and Central Asian ceramics and other art objects, as well as an impressive selection of miniature paintings from the Persian, Mughul and Indian traditions.
- The Corpus CoranicumFunded by the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities, the project offers systematic access to early Qur'anic manuscripts with images and transliterated text. In parallel, a catalogue of variant readings included in the works of the Islamic scholarly tradition is produced. Based on textual history, the project creates a chronological commentary using methods of literary studies and refering to relevant texts from Antiquity and Late Antiquity.
- Islamic Heritage ProjectFor the IHP, Harvard’s Open Collections Program (OCP) produced digital copies of over 280 manuscripts, 275 printed texts, and 50 maps, totaling over 156,000 pages. Materials in Islamic Heritage Project digital collection date from the 10th to the 20th centuries and represent many