Open Internet Collections
- Library of Congress -- Manuscripts in the Libraries of the Greek and Armenian Patriarchates in JerusalemThe twenty monasteries which comprise the historic and legendary yet largely inaccessible monastic complex on Mt. Athos in Greece house a rich collection of over 11,000 manuscripts. This collection includes 209 Greek and Georgian manuscripts of the Bible along with some 44 apocryphal writings as well as various documents on Byzantine music and letters.
- Library of Congress -- Manuscripts in St. Catherine's Monastery, Mount SinaiThe renowned Eastern Orthodox Monastery of St. Catherine’s on Mt. Sinai is home to reputedly the oldest continuously run library in existence today. Its holdings of religious and secular manuscripts are legendary and allegedly second only in number to the collection held by the Vatican: from bibles, to patristic works, to liturgies and prayers books, and on to legal documents such as deeds, court cases, Fatwahs (legal opinions).
- Library of Congress -- Manuscripts from the Monasteries of Mt. AthosThe twenty monasteries on Mt. Athos in Greece house a rich collection of over 11,000 manuscripts. This collection includes 209 Greek and Georgian manuscripts of the Bible along with some 44 apocryphal writings as well as various documents on Byzantine music and letters.
Books and e-books
Global Catholicism: Profiles and Polarities
By surveying Catholic churches around the world, the author anticipates a Church that is polycentric rather than European, and one that is less privileged, with a more inclusive governance, an expanded ministry, a Church emphasizing dialogue with culture and other religions, and a new, more inclusive ecumenism.
World Christian encyclopedia : a comparative survey of churches and religions in the modern world
Here is the completely updated and greatly expanded new edition of a classic reference source--the comprehensive overview of the world's largest religion in all its many versions and in both its religious and secular contexts. Now in two volumes, the Encyclopedia presents and analyzes an unmatched wealth of information about the extent, status, and characteristics of twentieth-century Christianity worldwide.
Martin Luther : the man who rediscovered God and changed the world
On All Hallow's Eve in 1517, a young monk named Martin Luther posted a document he hoped would spark an academic debate, but which instead ignited a conflagration that would forever destroy the world he knew. Five hundred years after Luther's now famous Ninety-five Theses appeared, acclaimed biographer Eric Metaxas paints a startling portrait of the wild figure whose adamantine faith cracked the edifice of Western Christendom and dragged medieval Europe into the future.
The Orthodox Christian World
This collection offers a compelling overview of the Orthodox world, covering the main regional traditions of Orthodox Christianity and the ways in which they have become global. The contributors are drawn from the Orthodox community worldwide and explore a rich selection of key figures and themes. The book provides an innovative and illuminating approach to the subject, ideal for students and scholars alike.
Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States
The Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States outlines the myriad roles Christianity has played and continues to play. This masterful five-volume reference work includes biographies of major figures in the Christian church in the United States, influential religious documents and Supreme Court decisions, and information on theology and theologians, denominations, faith-based organizations, immigration, art--from decorative arts and film to music and literature--evangelism and crusades, the significant role of women, racial issues, civil religion, and more.
Library Databases
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index This link opens in a new windowThe Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) has been added to the ATLA Religion database. Search the ATLA Religion database to access full text and citations that were formerly available from CPLI.
- Catholic News Archive, The This link opens in a new windowA project of the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA), the archive contains thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years. Search the archive, or browse by title or date.
- The Catholic Portal (CRRA) This link opens in a new windowThe Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA) Portal, or "Catholic Portal," provides provides access to and discovery of rare, unique and uncommon Catholic scholarly resources.
- Global Missions and Theology This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 23,869 documents from Lost Cause Press.
- Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910 This link opens in a new windowThe records of the Board of Foreign Missions (BFM) of the Presbyterian Church provide valuable information on social conditions in developing nations and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Among the missions’ responsibilities was the establishment of indigenous churches, educational facilities, hospitals, orphanages, and seminaries. The majority of the material in this collection consists of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.