Bibliographer's Guide

Bibliographer Who's Who

Archives/Special Collections: Jessie de la Cruz (303) 964-3612
Art: Hannah Miller (303) 964-6601
Astronomy/Physics: Amy Hezel (303) 458-3553
Biology: Melissa DeWitt (303) 458-4262
Browsing Books: Dawn Combe (303) 458-3597
Business/MBA: Paul Mascareñas (303) 458-4917
Chemistry: Courtney Drysdale (303) 964-5158
CETL: Courtney Drysdale (303) 964-5158
Communication: Jessie de la Cruz (303) 964-3612
Computer & Information Sciences: Paul Betty (303) 964-5244
Counseling & Family Therapy: Erin McCaffrey (303) 964-5212
Criminology: Dawn Combe (303) 458-3597
Development Practice: Melissa DeWitt (303) 458-4262
Economics: Paul Mascareñas (303) 458-4917
Education: Courtney Drysdale (303) 964-5158
English: Amy Hezel (303) 458-3553
Environmental Studies: Melissa Dewitt (303) 458-4262
Health Care/Health Care Ethics: Kim O'Neill (303) 964-6530
Health Services Administration: Kim O'Neill (303) 964-6530
History: Cairie Riney (303) 964-6729
Jesuitica: Paul Betty (303) 964-5772
Languages: Jessie de la Cruz (303) 964-3612
Management/MSM: Paul Mascareñas (303) 458-4917
Mathematics: Courtney Drysdale (303) 964-5158
Media Collections: Amy Belotti (303) 458-3554
Music: Dawn Combe (303) 458-3597
Nonprofit Management/MNM: Paul Mascareñas (303) 458-4917
Nursing: Kim O'Neill (303) 964-6530
Peace & Justice: Paul Betty (303) 964-5772
Pharmacy: Kim O'Neill (303) 964-6530
Philosophy: Melissa Dewitt (303) 458-4262
Physical Therapy: Kim O'Neill (303) 964-6530
Psychology: Erin McCaffrey (303) 964-5212
Public Administration: Paul Mascareñas (303) 458-4917
Reference: Paul Betty (303) 964-5772
Religion/Catholic Studies: Paul Betty (303) 964-5772
Sociology: Dawn Combe (303) 458-3597
Women's & Gender Studies: Dawn Combe (303) 458-3597

 

You may also contact the Discovery and Collections Department at (303) 964-5244.

Bibliographer as Subject Specialist

The bibliographer in his/her role as subject specialist helps to develop the libraries' collections in support of the university's research and instructional missions through recommendation for purchase of all formats of library materials.

It is not expected that the bibliographer will have the depth of knowledge in a field as that of a teaching faculty. A bibliographer is a generalist within a specialty and strives for a balanced view of that specialty while at the same time responding to specific academic needs and interests.

Functions and Activities

Different disciplines rely more heavily on one format of resources than another. For that reason there is no methodology that will work equally well for all bibliographers. Some disciplines rely more heavily on journal titles. Others rely more on monographic resources. Teaching faculty differ as well. Some will be more proactive in recommending resources. Others will need some encouragement.