Bibliographer's Guide

Firm Orders (monographs)

Firm Orders (monographs)
Because the approval plan and purchase plans are limited in scope, bibliographers will need to submit individual orders to the acquisitions department. Orders will be received in any of the following ways: handwritten or typed cards, pages from publishers catalogs, entire publishers catalogs with annotations (funds, bibliographer initials), email requests, individual email from Books in Print online or lists from Books in Print Online, lists from Ingram or YBP (accounts required), individual titles or lists from Choice (photocopies of pages or online), journals in the field (photocopies of library journals), slips from either YBP or Midwest. Many bibliographers like to email the YPB notices to acquisitions. Contact the acquisitions department to set up individual accounts for YBP, Midwest and Ingram. No matter which delivery format the bibliographer chooses, the bibliographer must include a fund. If the order is at the request of a faculty member, indicate whether the faculty member would like the book held for pick up or if the member would like to be notified of receipt.

As a general rule, textbooks are not usually purchased. Duplicates and reprints also are not purchased unless there obviously is high demand or the copy is missing or in bad condition. Added editions are accepted according to the judgment of the bibliographer: frequency of use of prior edition, amount of time between editions. Bibliographers should also be aware of the interdisciplinary nature of a title and include it in the collection or bring it to the attention of another bibliographer.

Bibliographers are encouraged to meet individually with teaching faculty or attend faculty department meetings. Contrary to popular belief, requests are not restricted to YBP slips. Bibliographers are encouraged to solicit recommendations from teaching faculty, but should remember that the bibliographer is the final authority. Caution should be taken not to accept too many requests from any one faculty member to the exclusion of others in order to maintain a balanced collection. Some teaching departments like to run recommendations through a collection committee or through the department chair. Most favor individual requests directly to the bibliographer. Periodic reminders to the chair or to the department are helpful and oftentimes necessary. Routing subject specific catalogs or photocopies of Choice are sometimes beneficial, bearing in mind that the faculty frequently receive catalogs independently. Updates on amounts spent throughout the year can provide some urgency.

Media Materials

Bibliographers are urged to think about collection development in all formats. If a bibliographer receives recommendations from a faculty member or notices titles in non-print format, those requests should be forwarded to the media services department which will weigh the request against the existing collection and other requests received. Due to limited shelving space and to their growing popularity, DVDs, Blu-Ray discs and digital licenses for streaming are favored over VHS and other formats. Because funds are limited, priority is given to those items which directly support the curriculum.

Serials

Print journal titles
EBSCO is the primary vendor for print journal titles. Print journals are ordered on a volume number basis, usually on a calendar year. Education titles frequently run on a school year basis, August through May. Regis receives its annual renewal from EBSCO in June at which time the Collections & Resource Management Librarian will send out a reminder to all bibliographers that it is time to review subscriptions. Additions and deletions should be returned to the Collections & Resource Management Librarian by the end of August. Additions and changes will be collated and returned with the renewal to EBSCO by mid-September with new subscriptions to begin in January of the following year (providing that there isn't an odd subscription start date). Unless there are new monies allocated, most additions can only come about as other titles of a similar value are dropped. Bibliographers should work closely with the teaching departments on adding and dropping titles. As new electronic resources are added, bibliographers should review print subscriptions to determine if cancellation of the print counterpart is feasible. Strict embargoes of electronic titles may be a determining factor in not canceling a print title. Before recommending a new print subscription, bibliographers should determine whether or not the title is available electronically, bearing in mind embargoes, graphics, and printing capabilities.

Microforms
Due to space concerns, some print titles are replaced with microfiche as the fiche becomes available. In some circumstances, where the microfiche is received quarterly, only the fiche is received. The renewal is received in early September. The bibliographers should review both the print and microfiche subscriptions simultaneously. If a print title is dropped, consideration should also be given for the fiche title. For a variety of reasons, print may be dropped and fiche retained. Or fiche may be dropped and print retained. The renewal is updated and returned in September as well.

Standing orders
Standing orders are print subscriptions to annuals, continuations, indexes, etc. An order is placed and will be received automatically until a decision is made to discontinue it, the set is complete, or it is no longer published. A standing order is a long-term commitment. There is nothing more frustrating to the user to have gaps in service. Bibliographers may send recommendations to the Collections & Resource Management Librarian. For the most part, print standing orders will be canceled when an online equivalent is ordered.

Electronic Resources

Bibliographers will submit recommendations for all formats of electronic resources to the Collections Committee for review. Criteria for selection will include cost, budget, usability, format, and curricular need. In many instances, print counterparts of electronic resources will be canceled. Electronic resources are a long term commitment and usually very expensive. Therefore, a trial is recommended. Bibliographers may suggest a trial at any time by forwarding trial information to the Collections & Resource Management Librarian. Frequently, trials are sought by other libraries through the Alliance. At that point, the Collections & Resource Management Librarian sends out a notice that a trial is underway and requests that all bibliographers send observations to a member of the Database Committee. The trial is posted on the current trials page of the Regis Library website. Electronic resources include monographs, journals, indexes, and statistical information.

Gifts

All formats of gifts are welcomed, including monographs, periodicals and media. Gifts may be directed to the Collections & Resource Management Librarian during the week or to either the circulation desk or to the reference desk during evening and weekend hours. At the donor's discretion, s/he may complete a gift donation form which will be enclosed with the books and delivered to Collections & Resource Management. Staff at either desk will complete a gift receipt and give it immediately to the donor. Forms are available from Collections & Resource Management, the circulation desk, or the reference desk. Donation information is printed on the verso of the gift receipt form. Acceptance of a donation does not guarantee that the donation will be added to the collection. The library will not determine a value for the donation nor will it recommend an appraiser. Appraisal must be done prior to the donation.

Gifts of any type will be added to the collection based on the criteria set forth in the Collection Development Policy. Once a gift is accepted, Collections & Resource Management staff will check the titles against the online catalog to determine existing ownership and note on a form if the title is owned, where it is located, or the existence of other editions. Bibliographers will be asked to review the titles and indicate if the titles should be added to the collection or sent to an ongoing book sale. Journal titles will also be checked against the catalog to determine ownership. Complete large runs may be accepted if they meet curricular needs. Smaller runs will be checked against existing holdings to determine if they fill in gaps. Titles that are not needed will be offered to other libraries.