Bibliographer's Guide

Collection Development

The activities of collection development include identifying, selecting, acquiring, deselecting, and preserving appropriate materials. It also includes collection management through analysis and evaluation of books, journals, microforms, audio-visual materials and electronic materials and access.

Mission

Collection development in the Regis Library supports the Library mission and the University mission:

Who We Are:  

We are employees of the Library, Learning Commons, and Student Disability Services/University Testing who are creative individuals and collaborators at heart. We want to form connections with individuals and community members and are passionate about our work.  

Mission Statement: 

We form campus and community partnerships to enable access to information, resources, spaces, and people with the goal of fostering education for a more just and humane world. 

Statement on our Values:  

Our values tie directly to our mission. They are framed by a commitment to social justice, racial justice, disability justice and furthering equity for our Regis community.  

Learning/Inquiry 

We envision creating an environment through our actions where everyone is empowered to take charge of their own learning and advocate for their academics. Learners have their own experiences and knowledge, so we work to nurture those existing experiences during the learning process so individuals can grow and share what they’ve learned with the broader community. Our spaces are for Regis community participation and support from the larger academic community. We envision a place that engenders community creation while providing spaces for self-care so that learners can grow and thrive.  

Accessibility 

We provide holistic access to the Regis Community and attempt to remove systemic barriers to access. We envision moving beyond compliance and towards an environment that respects and values the experiential knowledge of people with diverse abilities and backgrounds. Our methods of access are multiplatform and multiformat to meet the needs of all members of our community. We envision physical and virtual spaces that are dynamic, inclusive, and easy to navigate so that there are no barriers to knowledge, information, resources, or advocacy. Access is not solely about content, but the connections we form between people when we value intersectionality. 

Compassion/Care 

We seek to engage in relations founded on the principals of authentic care, which work to undermine practices of identity-based injustices. We work to move beyond the principals of customer service to offer depth of care based on specific needs of individuals and communities. To this end, we also recognize that compassion and care requires balance regarding labor, both ours and that of our students and academic partners. We work to mutually support one another. 

Links for Bibliographers

Collections Committee

The Collections Committee is comprised of 5 members: Chair (appointed by the Dean) and 4 faculty representatives (elected by the faculty). The Dean of the Library is ex-officio. The charge includes: determining fund allocations, analyzing collections (print and electronic), and regularly reviewing procedures and policies regarding collection development.